'Homestead' Cabin w/ Oconto River Access!

City: Mountain, Wisconsin Property ID: 301493

grand total: From $179 total Per Night

  • DETAILED DESCRIPTION
    *New Renovations: House runs completely on solar power, eco-friendly refrigerator, and an outside shower*

    Experience the escape of a lifetime to lovely Wisconsin by staying at this astounding Mountain vacation rental eco-lodge! Surrounded by forest and 600 feet of river frontage, this 3-bedroom, 1-bathroom estate provides immense comfort, and natural beauty as far as the eye can see. This residence has enough room to sleep 6, ideal for anyone seeking a haven from the stresses of everyday life.

    -- THE PROPERTY --

    Master Bedroom: King Bed | Bedroom 2: Twin-over-Twin Bunk Bed | Bedroom 3: Queen Bed | Loft: Queen Bed

    When you first arrive at the property, you'll fall in love with the secluded and beautiful atmosphere, created by the towering old-growth forest, manicured lawn and gardens, and botanically diverse plant life.

    Inside, stunning marble and oak floors spread out over 3 levels, featuring cedar cathedral ceilings and plaster walls, perfectly setting the stage for your vacation. With mostly gas appliances and solar-powered lights, this home truly is a rustic retreat, providing you with a private sanctuary.

    In the morning, brew a fresh cup of coffee and head out to one of the 2 massive decks to delight in the fresh air and listen to the Oconto River flowing nearby.

    When you've worked up an appetite, prepare your favorite meals in the beautiful kitchen, which is equipped with stainless steel appliances and all the necessary culinary tools.

    Savor your dinner at the spacious dining table, or in warmer weather, dine outdoors on the deck or the picnic table near the river as you take in the million dollar views of the magnificent Wisconsin foliage.

    After the sun sinks below the horizon, don't miss your opportunity to take a look up at the sky and see the stars twinkling above. With no light pollution, this area boasts the best stargazing in the state!

    -- THE LOCATION --

    As long as you love the outdoors, there's something for you here! Hunters can take advantage of the excellent deer and grouse hunting in the area. Bird watching, wildlife foraging, and mushroom hunting are also fantastic pastimes.

    Spend some time hiking along the gorgeous Oconto River or go for a swim in the swimming hole, which has a sandy bottom and a natural 70-foot slippery slide. You can also take advantage of the private dock by canoeing, kayaking, or tubing on the class 2 rapids of the river.

    If you don't have a tube or raft, Wolf River is 15 miles from the home and offers rentals. The Oconto River isn't the only water nearby, there are 15 lakes within 15 miles of the property! You'll never be at a loss for places to swim, water ski, wakeboard, or fish.

    Head to nearby Lakewood to dine at one of their delicious restaurants. Mulligans boasts tasty pizza and outdoor dining, or you can stir up some excitement by seeing live music at Skinny Dave's.

    Lakewood also offers a bowling alley, horseback riding, a 100-mile motorcycle path, a fun candy store, and more!

    -- THE EVOLVE DIFFERENCE --

    Evolve Vacation Rental wants your vacation experience to be everything you hoped for and exactly what you needed. To make it easy, we help you find a property you love, offer world-class support seven days a week, and make sure our properties are safe, clean, and ready for your stay. Even better, each home has a Guest Contact available 24/7 for anything that’s on your mind. It’s a fresh new approach to vacation rental. Try Evolve today!

    -- ADDITIONAL DETAILS --

    - Amenities include a fully equipped kitchen, TV w/ 16 local channels, free WiFi, 2 massive decks, Oconto River access with private dock and canoe, manicured lawn and gardens, and more!
    - Serene Mountain location surrounded by 600ft of river frontage and national forest with outdoor meditation sanctuary!
    - PLEASE NOTE -- this property's restroom facility includes a compost toilet
    - Nearest Commercial Airport: Austin Straubel International Airport (~ 66 miles away)

    -- POLICIES --

    Policies:
    - No smoking
    - No pets allowed
    - No events, parties, or large gatherings
    - Must be at least 25 years old to book
    - Additional taxes and fees may apply
    - Photo ID may be required upon check-in

    Important Note:
    - There is a gas station about 5 minutes away from the property

  • Location
  • DETAILS & AMENITIES

    Area Activities

    • Antiquing
    • Boating
    • Cross Country Skiing
    • Cycling
    • Downhill/Alpine Skiing
    • Eco Tourism
    • Farmers Market
    • Festivals
    • Fishing
    • Fly Fishing
    • Gambling
    • Golf
    • Hiking
    • Horseback Riding
    • Horseshoes
    • Hunting
    • Ice Skating
    • Jet Skiing
    • Kayaking
    • Miniature Golf
    • Mountain Biking
    • Museums
    • Nightlife
    • Playground
    • Rafting
    • Restaurants
    • Sailing
    • Shopping
    • Sledding/Tubing
    • Snowboarding
    • Snowmobiling
    • Snowshoeing
    • Surfing/Windsurfing
    • Swimming
    • Waterskiing
    • Wildlife Viewing
    • Winery Tours

    Inside Amenities

    • Kitchen

    Key Amenities

    • Coffeemaker
    • Fire Extinguisher
    • Trash Bags/Paper Towels
    • Wireless Internet (WIFI)

    Kitchen Equipment

    • Coffee Grinder
    • Dishware and Flatware
    • Refrigerator
    • Spices
    • Stove/Oven

    Nearby Amenities

    • Garden View
    • Riverfront
    • Rural
    • Water View

    Other Amenities

    • Off Street Parking

    Outdoor Amenities

    • Balcony
    • Beach Chairs
    • Canoe
    • Charcoal Grill
    • Deck
    • Dock/Boat Slip
    • Fire Pit
    • Garden
    • Outdoor Dining Area
    • Patio
    • Patio Furniture

    Property Amenities

    • Books
    • Ceiling Fans
    • Fireplace
    • Internet Connection
    • Linens Provided
    • TV
    • Towels Provided
    • Wood-Burning Stove

    Suitability

    • Car Recommended
    • Extended Stay
    • Flexible Max Occupancy
    • Long Term Renters
    • Minimum Age Requirement
    • No Pets Allowed
    • Non Smoking
    • Suitable for Children
    • Suitable for Elderly
  • Guest Reviews (25)
    Write Your Own Review

    Stunningly beautiful!

    Reviewed by: Jocelyn S. on

    Comment:

    This place is absolutely amazing. Beautiful setting tucked in the woods, right along the Oconto river. The inside of the cabin has all brand new appliances and is modern, but cozy. I can?t say enough about how beautiful his property is. You get the convenience of being near area grocery shopping and restaurants, but the beauty and quiet of the Northwoods. The property is also very close to the state forest for your hiking pleasure and many great fishing spots (including the river itself!). This place is an absolute gem. I can?t wait for my next visit!!!
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in November 2018

    Reviewed by: Leonel on

    Comment:

    Very beautiful place affordable , had an amazing time with my family. Spend our thanksgiving there and enjoyed every day. Hiking , game night even movie night .
    *This review was originally posted on Airbnb for a stay in November 2018

    Reviewed by: Ana on

    Comment:

    My husband and I traveled for a weekend retreat and were not disappointed! The fireplaces were lit when we arrived. There was a nice selection of board games, VHS tapes and DVDs. We took advantage of the canoe on the property and took a ride down the river in our backyard. We cooked all our meals and the kitchen was nicely stocked with pots, pans, dishes and utensils. You will have to bring your own kitchen spices. The cabin felt very homey and inviting. The only negative comment I have is about the toilet. It is a composting toilet with no running water. It was a little strange for us. This place was wonderful and we would definitely stay again.
    *This review was originally posted on Airbnb for a stay in October 2018

    Absolutely magical!

    Reviewed by: Kristin C. on

    Comment:

    I was looking forward to my stay for several months beforehand and had looked through all of the details and photos online- but nothing could have prepared me for the beauty of this place. I've been to some pretty gorgeous locations both domestically and abroad and there was just something special about this... The cabin was lovely, clean, comfortable, and just the right size for our group. The place was super cozy and welcoming and had everything we needed (we especially loved the outdoor fireplace and shower, and hammock chairs!). While the cabin was fantastic, it was really the outdoors that drew us. The river, the swimming pond, and the lush surrounding landscape were the perfect backdrop for a weekend of R&R and play. Next time we come, we'll bring our fishing gear and make time to float the river in our kayaks! I would LOVE to come back in every season to experience the surroundings as they transition to fall, winter, and spring. We spent most of our time enjoying the cabin and surrounding landscape (you could hardly pry me away, to be honest) but we did venture out on Saturday night to the conveniently nearby Maiden Lake Supper Club. Another gorgeous view- this time of a lake- and we watched the sunset lakeside with some phenom cocktails while we waited for our table. The place was packed and when we got our food, we understood why- supper club dining at its Midwestern finest. I would recommend this place to anyone (and have recommended it to everyone who would listen, actually) and I would go back every month if I could (unfortunately I can't quite fit that into my schedule). I'm planning to return in January and again in the spring/summer next year. Highly recommend. 11/10. Really can't find enough superlatives to do justice to this WI gem.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in September 2018

    Beautiful family vacation

    Reviewed by: Margaret B. on

    Comment:

    My husband, daughter, and three grandkids stayed here and had a wonderful vacation. It was very serene and beautiful. We hope to return.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in July 2018

    Nature Lover's Dream

    Reviewed by: Sarah B. on

    Comment:

    This cabin is so much more than just your ordinary place! A one of a kind, very unique gem. Hidden in the woods for a sense of total seclusion yet just a short drive to town. If you are looking to relax, rejuvenate, and unplug look know further. This place will blow your mind! Situated right on the river, wildlife galore, and beautiful views. The cabin was spacious, clean, and everything we hoped for in a vacation rental and more. We loved all the special touches inside and out! I'd highly recommend staying here, we will definitely be back soon. Thanks for providing and sharing your beautiful home. These are memories that will last a lifetime.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in August 2018

    Stunning!

    Reviewed by: Maggie M. on

    Comment:

    Beautiful! This place is even beyond the pictures and description. Will be returning.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in May 2018

    Charming cabin deep in the forest on the river!

    Reviewed by: Matt N. on

    Comment:

    Such a charming vacation and great memories from staying at this solar powered off the grid cabin deep in the forest. Where to start? How about the little Oconto River in the front yard where we caught a giant trout in the swimming hole to in what has to be some of Wisconsin?s cleanest water. I also recommend taking the cabin canoe down the Oconto to the bridge, beware there are some real rapids. If there weren?t so many great things to nearby we would have spent more time lounging on the porches with a great view of the river. Neat things to do nearby, visit the Cathedral Pines ? an old growth forest with towering trees, or hike Butler Mountain nearby to get a great view of the surrounding and foliage. There are also two supper clubs near by, one of which we went to and was a classic supper club experience. I also highly recommend renting a tube and floating down the Wolf river, great fun. Be sure to have a campfire in one of the fire pits and look up at the starts. We definitely are planning to return to this gem next year.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in October 2017

    Hidden Treasure

    Reviewed by: Catherine L. on

    Comment:

    My husband, children and I spent 4 days/ 3 nights at this location. It was very accurate to the listing and offered much more. The bedrooms, kitchen and bathrooms were also clean and tidy upon arrival. The kitchen was fully stocked with supplies from pots and pans to cutting boards and can openers. We loved the location and the children didn?t ask to play video games the whole time! They were too busy fishing, canoeing, catching frogs and crayfish and swimming in the spring fed swimming pond just feet away from the cabin. We also had fun on the trampoline, stargazing, having a fire in the outdoor hearth and hiking. The forested area was so lush and green and mossy we felt like we were in Washington Sate again. We went rafting one day and into town to an adorable two-story candy shoppe and pizzeria. My husband and I loved how the cabin was built and arranged- lots of wood and stone craftsmanship. Everyone had their own private space and the porch and balcony were spacious and we spent most of our time there. There is a beautiful living room area in the upstairs where we also gathered. Our favorite thing (besides location) about the cabin is that it was solar powered. This was one of the best family trips we?ve had with no distractions! Hoping to make it an annual tradition and would like to return in winter as I bet it is just georgeous and cozy with the fireplace going. Would recommend this place to others.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in August 2018

    Best family vacation we've ever taken

    Reviewed by: Margaret B. on

    Comment:

    We stayed here with three different families over a long weekend. There were a total of 14 of us; young children, teenagers, and adults. Every single one of us had an absolutely beautiful stay. The cabins are absolutely stunning and unique. Everyone had their own space and felt comfortable. As gorgeous as the cabin are, the property itself is paradise. I?ve never been anywhere as pretty. There is a rushing river, manicured lawns, a natural swimming pool- all surrounded by national forest. There are multiple decks to relax in. Endless activities that kept everyone happy. Thank you for creating this paradise! We?ve already booked for next year.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in September 2018

    Reviewed by: A Verified Guest on

    Comment:

    *This review was originally posted on Airbnb for a stay in July 2018

    Fantastic property with drawbacks

    Reviewed by: Scott W. on

    Comment:

    Overall we were very impressed with the property itself. It was clean and beautiful and secluded - everything we wanted!! The outdoor shower was amazing and rejuvenating. We spent tons of time on the deck grilling and hanging out. The creek is beautiful, calming, and serene. The house itself was perfect for the four of us and we love the fact that they allow pets. There are a few things we wish we should have known about prior to our visit. Most importantly is that they are currently under construction of another building on the property. There is a gigantic second home under construction that really dampens the scenery and sense of isolation. It is a towering structure in plain sight of the existing home. Second, we wish the owners were more forthcoming with the bathroom situation. The toilet located inside the residence has a sign on it indicating it can only be flushed once a day. Gross! Otherwise you have to use a Johny on the spot that sits on the driveway. Also gross! The owners advertise a canoe and kayak on the creek. There is a canoe - with holes in it and no paddles. The "fire pit" was riddled with nails, screws, broken glass, and beer cans - I'm assuming from the construction site previously mentioned. The basement of the home is extremely damp and moist. There is a de humidifier running but it just can't keep up with the amount of moisture in the air, which consequently makes the basement smell musty and moldy. Last, I can't imagine cramming more than four people in this house for more than a couple days. The eating table can seat 3-4 comfortably in the small kitchen and the living area can seat about the same. Overall we enjoyed our 5 day stay on the property. The gardens are beautiful, the house is cute and clean, and there is plenty to do. The owners furnished clean sheets and dishes, board games, and some movies for rainy days. I could have stayed in the outdoor shower forever! I would recommend staying here for sure - just beware of some of the drawbacks not mentioned in the property description.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in August 2017

    Manager's Response:
    Scott, thanks for taking the time to leave this review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip overall and we appreciate your feedback. We've shared your comments with the homeowner for further consideration. We have been assured that the septic system and toilet have been replaced so that a traditional bathroom is available for guest use. In regard to the dampness in the basement, the owner has installed screen doors to create more airflow within the home. As well the construction has been completed and we apologize for any inconvenience it caused during your stay. Thanks for giving us the opportunity to create a better experience going forward. Best, the Evolve Team

    Absolutely Peaceful with Beautiful Surroundings

    Reviewed by: Linda R. on

    Comment:

    Our family of 6 had a wonderful time at the Mountain Cabin. The cabin is very cozy for six but we never felt on top of each other. The deck area on the kitchen level was wonderful to sip morning coffee and listen to the rapids on the river. We enjoyed fires in the outdoor stove on the lower deck and also by the fire pit on the bank of the river. The star gazing was amazing. Although there was a bit of musty smell when we arrived to the cabin, once we opened the window the odor was minimal. As other reviews have mentioned, the more humid the days were, the odor from the compost toilet increased. Keeping the door to the bathroom closed was helpful. Everyone really enjoyed the outdoor shower immensely. Coming in first for cabin enjoyment was the natural slide that was just a short walk up the river! My only suggestion for the property owners would be to upgrade the beds and bedding in all sleeping areas except the master bedroom which was lovely. I would recommend this beautiful property to anyone.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay on September 14, 2017

    Beautiful!

    Reviewed by: Eileen D. on

    Comment:

    We had a great time in the north woods of Wisconsin. This place is absolutely beautiful. While sitting on the decks all you could hear was the flow of the river; no cars, no motor boats, no planes. It was blissful sitting outside enjoying the sounds of nature. The cabin was comfortable for 8 people but I would recommend a few modifications to enhance the experience. In my opinion all windows and doors should have screens so that you can fully open up the place to let the air flow in & keep the bugs out. I would also recommend fixing the stove/range. There was a continual clicking that was a bit annoying. I had the same issue at my house turns out it was the "igniter" that needed to be replaced. Not a big deal. However, all that said, this is a fabulous cabin in a beautiful setting with tons of wonderful things to do in the immediate area.

    Reviewer location

    Vernon Hills


    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay on

    July 22, 2017

    Problems forced us to cut our stay short.

    Reviewed by: JB on

    Comment:

    Based on reviews and photos, we reserved this house for four days in early August. It did not work out for us because of two significant issues.
    Positives: the grounds are spectacular. The river bank is well-maintained and it's easy to fish or just sit and relax. Mosquitos were much less of a problem than we anticipated. Bullfrogs sing at night. The kitchen is fairly well equipped. There is good water pressure in the shower and the bathroom and kitchen were both clean when we arrived (that's where you usually find problems if there are any). There are ample towels. The mattress on the upstairs bed was comfortable.
    Negatives: the house is smaller than it appears in the photos. Someone apparently took professional photos at angles that do not reveal just how tight the upstairs is. For example, you can see the kitchen table in one shot, but it is not apparent that there is no where to pull it out so that more than three people can sit there. The living room is packed and walking from the upstairs bedroom to the kitchen or bath is a minor obstacle course. And there are no nightlights to help find your way around in the middle of the night. For as much thought that was put into many of the design aspects of the house, there are weird things such as light switches located behind doors or across the room. The master bedroom is on the first floor but the only toilet is on the second. Much money was spent on landscaping, but the sheets are polyester and some late added screens are taped in place because (I gather) the sizes needed to fit the windows were no longer available when someone complained about bugs. There are eight beds in the house but nowhere for eight people to sit together, even including each of the decks. Fortunately, we were only two people, but I wonder about groups during inclement weather.
    For us, the biggest problems resulted from the high humidity typical of the Midwest in summer. The composting toilet had a sign on it advising residents to use it as little as possible since it sometimes stinks during high humidity periods and instead we were asked to use a port-a-potty in the yard as much as possible. We knew we were renting an eco-friendly house – that's part of the appeal – but nothing was said about using portable facilities as if we were at a fairgrounds. The humidity caused a second problem: a strong musty/mildewy smell on the first floor where most of the beds (including the master bedroom) are. The caretaker has worked hard to control the smell but it seems to be uncontrollable. The solar system cannot handle a dehumidifier, so it's hard to know what would make the first floor livable, at least for those who have sensitive noses.
    We don't demand perfection, but the combination of being able to live in only half the house and having to deal with a portable john for this kind of money was unacceptable, so we left after one night. The rental agency and the owner were good enough to refund the remaining rental fee without hassle; for this, I respect both of them. The caretaker did what he could as well. I suspect that this house could be very enjoyable during periods of lower humidity; certainly, just the location itself is worth a lot.

    Manager's Response:
    Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience during your trip. We are sorry for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay in a period of high humidity. We have shared your feedback with the owner so that any necessary adjustments can be made to ensure future guests have the best possible vacation experience in this home. We are glad that we were able to help with a resolution, and hope to assist you in booking a vacation rental that exceeds your expectations in the future! Best, The Evolve Team

    Fantastic experience, will definitely book again!

    Reviewed by: Dustin on

    Comment:

    Everything about this place worked out perfectly for our two small families this 4th of July weekend. Outside of fireworks and frogs we were essentially alone for all four days of our vacation. With a total of 2 4/5 yr old boys and 2 10 mo old babies we were always entertained and having fun. From frogging to swimming, to jumping on the trampoline or canoeing this place has something for everyone. The exterior experience is well worth the trip but although small, the cabin never felt cramped...just cozy.

    A wonderful home in a wonderful neck of the woods. We will definitely be coming back again.

    Fantastic experience, will definitely book again!

    Reviewed by: Dustin on

    Comment:

    Everything about this place worked out perfectly for our two small families this 4th of July weekend. Outside of fireworks and frogs we were essentially alone for all four days of our vacation. With a total of 2 4/5 yr old boys and 2 10 mo old babies we were always entertained and having fun. From frogging to swimming, to jumping on the trampoline or canoeing this place has something for everyone. The exterior experience is well worth the trip but although small, the cabin never felt cramped...just cozy.

    A wonderful home in a wonderful neck of the woods. We will definitely be coming back again.

    Fantastic experience, will definitely book again!

    Reviewed by: Dustin on

    Comment:

    Everything about this place worked out perfectly for our two small families this 4th of July weekend. Outside of fireworks and frogs we were essentially alone for all four days of our vacation. With a total of 2 4/5 yr old boys and 2 10 mo old babies we were always entertained and having fun. From frogging to swimming, to jumping on the trampoline or canoeing this place has something for everyone. The exterior experience is well worth the trip but although small, the cabin never felt cramped...just cozy.

    A wonderful home in a wonderful neck of the woods. We will definitely be coming back again.

    Reviewed by: Emilia Smal on

    Comment:

    Everything was great. Great host too !
    *This review was originally posted on Airbnb for a stay in 04/12/17

    Perfect weekend in a perfect cabin!

    Reviewed by: Benjamin W. on

    Comment:

    I was looking for the perfect location for a New Year's adventure when I ran across this cabin and fell in love. The property is absolutely beautiful and the cabin is as cozy as they come. Everything from the fireplace to the eco bathroom made for a serene weekend. I would highly recommend this cabin for anyone looking to enjoy nature. We spent a lot of time cross country skiing, hiking, and riding fat tire bikes.

    This review was originally posted on VRBO.com for a stay in December 2016

    Reviewed by: Bama Arredondo on

    Comment:

    Everything was great. We came to white water raft and mountain bike on the nearby trails and couldn't have asked for a better experience*This review was originally posted on AirBnb for a stay in Aug-16

    Serenity At It's Finest!

    Reviewed by: Cindy M. on

    Comment:

    One of the best vacation spots ever!! Flowing river, calm, quiet, deep woods, early morning coffee on the deck what more could a person ask for? The cabin has everything you need to include plenty of room and comfortable beds. A big THANK YOU to Gary the local contact for bringing me a keurig so I could have my morning coffee on the deck. Our pooch also enjoyed the room to roam and swimming in the river. If you want fun, calm and relaxation all in one then this cabin in the woods is the perfect place!
    *This review was originally posted on VRBO for a stay in Jun-16

    Perfect nature retreat

    Reviewed by: Angela P on

    Comment:

    The views on this property are spectacular. Waking up to sit on the deck watching the sun rise over the trees and being serenaded by frogs and the sounds of the river 24/7 was the perfect way to relax. The teens loved chasing frogs with the nets and tried feeding veggies to the resident turtles. We roasted marshmallows every night at the firepit, gazed at the stars and played cards and board games till late each night. The trampoline was a nice surprise for the kids too. We were happy to find that the property has been converted to solar power and a refrigerator is on-site. We stayed cool at night with just the windows open and the ceiling fan going and that way we got to hear the frogs and the river. We fixed all our meals at the house - the Supervalu in Lakewood is great - especially the thundering produce aisle and the clucking egg cooler. We left a pizza cutter and spaghetti pot (and accidentally our hot dog sticks) for future guests to use. Thanks to great advice from the impressive Florence County Wild Rivers Interpretive Center we hiked to LaSalle Falls and tubed the Pine River Oxbow which was so beautiful and peaceful and perfect to do on your own since it circles back to 1/2 mile from where you put in. We swam at Bass Lake beach where the water is very clear! We also played mini-golf and raced go-carts at the Vacationland Fun World in Crivitz. Thank you for a memorable vacation - we would definitely stay again!
    *This review was originally posted on VRBO for a stay in Jun-16

    Perfect nature retreat

    Reviewed by: Angela P on

    Comment:

    The views on this property are spectacular. Waking up to sit on the deck watching the sun rise over the trees and being serenaded by frogs and the sounds of the river 24/7 was the perfect way to relax. The teens loved chasing frogs with the nets and tried feeding veggies to the resident turtles. We roasted marshmallows every night at the firepit, gazed at the stars and played cards and board games till late each night. The trampoline was a nice surprise for the kids too. We were happy to find that the property has been converted to solar power and a refrigerator is on-site. We stayed cool at night with just the windows open and the ceiling fan going and that way we got to hear the frogs and the river. We fixed all our meals at the house - the Supervalu in Lakewood is great - especially the thundering produce aisle and the clucking egg cooler. We left a pizza cutter and spaghetti pot (and accidentally our hot dog sticks) for future guests to use. Thanks to great advice from the impressive Florence County Wild Rivers Interpretive Center we hiked to LaSalle Falls and tubed the Pine River Oxbow which was so beautiful and peaceful and perfect to do on your own since it circles back to 1/2 mile from where you put in. We swam at Bass Lake beach where the water is very clear! We also played mini-golf and raced go-carts at the Vacationland Fun World in Crivitz. Thank you for a memorable vacation - we would definitely stay again!
    *This review was originally posted on VRBO for a stay in Jun-16

    Serenity At It's Finest!

    Reviewed by: Cindy M. on

    Comment:

    One of the best vacation spots ever!! Flowing river, calm, quiet, deep woods, early morning coffee on the deck what more could a person ask for? The cabin has everything you need to include plenty of room and comfortable beds. A big THANK YOU to Gary the local contact for bringing me a keurig so I could have my morning coffee on the deck. Our pooch also enjoyed the room to roam and swimming in the river. If you want fun, calm and relaxation all in one then this cabin in the woods is the perfect place!
    *This review was originally posted on VRBO for a stay in Jun-16

top