'Astoria Painted Lady' Historic Apt w/ River View!

City: Astoria, Oregon Property ID: 285713

grand total: From $175 total Per Night

    **Please note a long-term tenant resides in the lower level unit of this building**

    Have the ultimate Oregon experience by staying at this delightful Astoria vacation rental unit in 'The Astoria Painted Lady.' Ideally situated atop a picturesque hill overlooking the tranquil waters of the Columbia River, this 2-bedroom, 2.5-bathroom abode sleeps 6 and will serve as an idyllic home base for exploring the oldest settlement west of the Rocky Mountains!


    **Please note that the backyard is not available as it is only available for the long term tenant on the first floor**

    Master Bedroom: Queen Bed | Bedroom 2: Queen Bed | Library: Full Sleeper Sofa

    Have the ultimate Oregon experience by staying at this delightful Astoria vacation rental unit in "The Astoria Painted Lady." The vacation rental unit is on the second floor with 2 bedrooms, 2.5 bathrooms, and enough sleeping accommodations to comfortably sleep 6 guests throughout the beautifully appointed living space.

    his residence is ideal for families, couples or close friends looking for a peaceful Oregon getaway. As soon as you arrive at this magnificent Victorian home, you'll simply fall in love with its vibrant exterior, draped in spectacular yellows, purples, and blues. Begin leisurely vacation days out on the spacious porch, languidly sipping your coffee while gently swaying back and forth in either of the quaint rocking chairs.

    The interior is equally as charming, with massive picture windows allowing sunshine to stream in, casting an abundance of inviting natural light on the abode's tastefully unique decor and comfortable furnishings. Everything you'll need to be as relaxed as possible during your stay is here, including wireless internet access, central heating, a TV with DVD player and a wonderful selection of movies for you to choose from, sure to appease your entertainment needs.

    The dwelling's cozy library will quickly become your favorite place to unwind after eventful vacation days. Kick back on the plush couch with a good page turner from the room's well-stocked collection of books or pick out an exciting game to play with your companions before dinner.

    When you're not out enjoying the local cuisine, utilize the home's gorgeous fully equipped kitchen, complete with all necessary cooking appliances. After cooking in the kitchen, gather around the adjacent wood dining table, with seating for 6 people, to savor your culinary masterpiece while gazing out at the dazzling Columbia River, where you'll observe ships anchoring as they travel between Portland and the Pacific Ocean.

    Later, head out to the large side yard to play some yard games with the verdant forested hillside serving as a peaceful backdrop. When you're finally ready to call it a night, retreat to either of the 2 beautifully ornate bedrooms, each of which have their own bathroom, to rest up for the next exciting vacation day!


    You simply can't beat this home's phenomenal location, situated within a quiet neighborhood that's laden with unmatched natural beauty. From here, you'll be just a short distance from Astoria's lovely riverwalk - a local favorite! This paved walkway along the Columbia River passes under the Astoria-Megler Bridge, past the sailors' memorial, and into downtown, giving you a comprehensive look at the area.

    Once downtown, you can slip down small side streets leading you to wonderful restaurants, coffee shops, art galleries and shops - both antique and specialty. While meandering down the town's riverwalk, you'll also pass by the Columbia River Maritime Museum, several Coast Guard ships and the East Mooring Basin, where sea lions are constant sources of free entertainment!

    If you're looking for some fun in the sun, hop in your car and drive 20 minutes to the spectacular Pacific Ocean beaches - dipping your toes in the ocean and flying a kite are musts! About 30 minutes away, you'll find the town of Seaside, where you can walk on the quaint boardwalk and visit the delightful aquarium.

    History buffs will love learning about the area's fascinating past at Fort Clatsop State Park, where Lewis and Clark stayed from December of 1805 to March of 1806. Fort Stevens, located on the shores of the Pacific, also abounds with interesting history. Here, you can explore a bunker for a first-hand look at what soldiers experienced in the past.

    If you cross the 4-mile Astoria-Megler bridge into Washington, you'll find plenty of additional parks and forts near the Columbia River. Traveling east on the Washington side of the river will lead you to Cathlamet, where you can ride a ferry across the river and wind your way back to Astoria on the scenic Highway 30.


    Evolve Vacation Rental Network is on a mission to make vacation rental easy for guests. Every property in our network has been vetted and verified so you can book with confidence. If you have questions prior to your trip, we are happy to assist you 7 days a week. During your stay, your designated Guest Contact will be available 24/7 to help with any issues that may arise.


    Key Residence Features:
    - Amenities include a fully equipped kitchen, central heating, wireless internet access, covered spacious porch, large side yard, well-stocked library, wooden dining table, TV with DVD collection and much more!
    - Spectacular location - Atop a lush hill with magnificent views of the Columbia River
    - Easy access to riverwalk, shops, restaurants, beaches, museums, and more
    - Nearest Commercial Airport: Portland International Airport - 7000 NE Airport Way, Portland, OR 97218 (~96 miles away)

    - Not suitable for young children. Children must be 8 years or older
    - Dog-friendly with fee (maximum 1 dog allowed, 85-pound weight limit)
    - Pet Fee: $45 Per Stay (For up to 3 Nights, Max 1 Dog Allowed)
    - Pet Fee: $15 Per Night (For Stays Over 3 Nights, Maximum 1 Dog Allowed)
    - No cats allowed
    - Quiet hours from 10:00 pm-8:00 am
    - Please note a long term tenant resides in the lower level unit. Please be respectful of them and observe the quiet hours noted above
    ​- Please note that the backyard is not available as it is only available for the long term tenant on the first floor
    - **Maximum occupancy is 6 people (includes daytime and nighttime guests). Exceeding the maximum occupancy will not be permitted, and can result in fines or eviction**
    - No smoking
    - Must be at least 25 years old to book
    - Additional fees and taxes may apply
  • Location


    • Antiquing
    • Boating
    • Cinema/Movie Theater
    • Cycling
    • Festivals
    • Fishing
    • Golf
    • Hiking
    • Kayaking
    • Museums
    • Nightlife
    • Restaurants
    • Shopping
    • Swimming
    • Wildlife Viewing


    • Internet Connection
    • Wireless Internet (WIFI)


    • Books
    • CD Player
    • DVD Player
    • Flat-Screen TV
    • Games
    • Music Collection
    • TV
    • Video Library

    Included Services

    • Linens Provided
    • Towels Provided
    • Trash Bags/Paper Towels

    Inside Amenities

    • Central Heating
    • Complimentary Toiletries
    • Hair Dryer

    Kitchen Equipment

    • Coffeemaker
    • Dishware and Flatware
    • Dishwasher
    • Microwave
    • Refrigerator
    • Stove/Oven
    • Toaster

    Other Amenities

    • Dedicated Parking Space
    • Keyless Entry

    Outside Amenities

    • Free Parking
    • Garden
    • Off Street Parking
    • Parking


    • Allow Dogs
    • Minimum Age Requirement
    • Non Smoking
    • Pets Allowed


    • Access Only By Stairs
    • Car Recommended
    • Not Suitable For Children

    View And Location

    • Garden View
    • Near Ocean
    • Water View
  • Guest Reviews (43)
    Write Your Own Review

    Should be called the “Needs Painted Lady”

    Reviewed by: Jamie L. on


    I spent a fortune on this place for our anniversary and I found it incredibly overpriced. The house appeared to be in a state of disrepair with large patches of paint missing on the exterior. The pictures led me to believe that there would be a large claw foot tub but it was overturned in the bathroom and totally out of commission. I?m a big fan of baths and there is no other tub in the other 2 bathrooms There was an odd musty smell and it just didn?t look very clean. The mattress was old and uncomfortable and there is no door at the top of the stairs which left me feeling like we had a lack of privacy. I stayed at a high end hotel earlier in the week for work and it was $200 less than what I paid per night at the Painted Lady. I feel sick about spending so much on an anniversary getaway for a place that fell so short of my expectations. I feel like I was misled by the pictures and highly disappointed.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in September 2018

    Manager's Response: Hi Jamie, We are sorry to hear that this vacation home fell short of your expectations. The homeowners are dedicated to the maintenance of the property and are already working on a plan to take care of the paint issues on the exterior of the house. All internal spaces are lovingly maintained, and the apartment is aired out and professionally cleaned before each reservation. We do not advertise in the listing that a claw-foot tub is available since the homeowners are in the process of updating the half-bath with a modern shower. We take the safety and comfort of our guests seriously, and the only entryway that appears not to be completely private is the door at the foot of the stairs in the main entry. Rest assured, this door is secured and not in use. The owners are working on adding signage to the home so that future guests can be confident that the door is not in use during their stay. Travelers would not be able to enjoy 1,000 square feet of living space, a fully-equipped kitchen, or sweeping views of the Columbia River from any local hotels like they can at the Painted Lady, and we are looking forward to helping the homeowners continue to host satisfied guests in this historic vacation rental. Best, the Evolve Team

    Plenty of room for a weekend stay

    Reviewed by: Ronnie O. on


    Check in and out was easy, parking was good, overall size was good for my dad and I who were in town for a quick weekend fishing trip.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in August 2018

    Reviewed by: Helen on


    *This review was originally posted on Airbnb for a stay in September 2018

    Reviewed by: Anna on


    The place was clean and had a neat old feel to it. However, it was much smaller in person than what it looked like online. The pup living downstairs didn't seem too fond of us coming in and out of the house and would carry on barking for quite awhile after we were inside. Overall it was a nice place but not for what we paid for it.
    *This review was originally posted on Airbnb for a stay in August 2018

    Manager's Response: Hi Anna, We are glad that the property was clean and ready for your arrival, but we are sorry that the size is not what you were expecting. We take the accuracy of our listings seriously and only use professional photographers to ensure that we are accurately representing our properties. The homeowners apologize that the dog in the unit below the apartment impacted your stay, and will be reaching out to their long-term tenant so that they can make any necessary adjustments. Thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to hosting you again soon! Best, the Evolve Team

    Beautiful view, very comfortable

    Reviewed by: Lani H. on


    Lovely view in the relaxing town of Astoria. Lots to see and do in the surrounding area. Did not notice that there is no washer and dryer when I made the booking. Otherwise, unit was well equipped with everything my family wanted.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in July 2018

    beds were terrible horrible night sleep

    Reviewed by: kathy a. on


    also couldn't go in backyard and play
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in August 2018

    Manager's Response: Hi Kathy, We are sorry to hear that your stay fell short of expectations. We do let guests know before they book that they do not have access to the backyard, and while mattress taste is subjective, we have shared your feedback with the homeowners for their further consideration. Thank you for your review, and we hope to travel with you again soon! Best, the Evolve Team

    We had a comfortable stay in this nice victorian.

    Reviewed by: Glenda H. on


    The upstairs part of this house was quite comfortable for the three of us. It was clean and nicely decorated. However, I did not appreciate the 2% hike in the price after I had booked it. I had made no changes in my end of the bargain.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in July 2018

    Manager's Response: Hi Glenda, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in this clean and comfortable apartment! The 2% tax increase was set by the city after you confirmed your reservation, and your booking total was updated accordingly. This is the hospitality industry standard across hotels, vacation rentals, and other vacation accommodations in the event of a tax increase. We apologize for any inconvenience and appreciate your understanding. Best, the Evolve Team

    Reviewed by: Constance on


    Fantastic view, nice amenities, pleasant accommodations. Lots of stairs to climb. There are 3 toilets, 2 tub/showers; the second bedroom had a bathroom with sink and toilet, but not a working shower. Well-equipped kitchen.
    *This review was originally posted on Airbnb for a stay in August 2018

    Reviewed by: A Verified Guest on


    *This review was originally posted on Airbnb for a stay in July 2018

    Reviewed by: A Verified Guest on


    Beautiful, charming house, immaculately clean & comfortable! Pretty views, with deers visiting every day. Every convenience is catered for; great bedding, towels, robes and showers. The only bath was unfortunately out of order / under construction which was a big disappointment for us as we come from a drought-stricken country where we can't bath! But great showers to make up for it & otherwise a smooth, lovely stay.
    *This review was originally posted on Airbnb for a stay in July 2018

    Reviewed by: A Verified Guest on


    The Painted Lady was a fantastic place to spend the weekend. The view from the kitchen cannot be beat. Check in/out was easy as well.
    *This review was originally posted on Airbnb for a stay in June 2018

    Nice location, comfortable accommodations

    Reviewed by: Kristin H. on


    Very nice stay. Extremely comfortable, clean. Kitchen is fully stocked, nice selection of DVDs, books, games, and everything else you could want for a relaxing weekend! Would stay again!
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in April 2018

    Had a wonderful time at the Painted Lady

    Reviewed by: Erin R. on


    The home was perfect for the three of us. Lots of games, great views and comfy beds! We loved gathering in the kitchen in the evenings to watch the boats and sitting on the front porch with our coffee in the morning. A wonderful stay all around.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in April 2018

    Great property and location!

    Reviewed by: Anonymous on


    Our stay at the painted lady was wonderful! We took advantage of the kitchen for breakfasts, but ventured downtown for dinner each night! The proximity to downtown and other attractions is great! The house is clean and comfortable! I loved having coffee on the front porch. We will be back for sure!
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in April 2018

    The Painted Lady needs a face lift

    Reviewed by: Pat J. on


    First the ok - the property was in a quiet neighborhood with great views from the kitchen. The coffee and tea supplies were abundant. There were lots of towels, bedding and the beds were comfortable. Now the not so good - when we arrived, the ensuite bathroom in one of the bedrooms had no functioning tub/shower and we were not advised of this prior to our arrival which we would have liked to have known about. The place needs a good, thorough deep cleaning. We wouldn't stay here again.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in February 2018

    Manager's Response:
    Hello Pat, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your stay didn't entirely meet your expectations. We here at Evolve, the homeowners, and their housekeeping crew take your feedback very seriously. We all work very hard at providing the best possible vacation experience. Every effort is made to provide accurate and thorough information in the listing. It does state that currently there are 2.5 baths. The housekeepers take great pride in making sure that the house has a high standard of cleanliness for all guests. They will be working even harder to insure the standards are met. We appreciate your feedback and hope all future travelers thoroughly enjoy their stay at The Astoria Painted Lady. Best, The Evolve Team

    Reviewed by: Brianna on


    This place is lovely! The view is great, the locations ideal-super close to the cathedral tree hike and a quick skip to downtown. Also dog friendly!
    *This review was originally posted on Airbnb for a stay in February 2018

    Thanksgiving weekend

    Reviewed by: John R. on


    We really enjoyed our home away from home here at the Painted Lady. It was generously spacious, the kitchen well equipped...perfect for a rain soaked holiday. Our only quibble came from our geriatric dogs- the stairs are quite steep. Thank goodness for sturdy hand rails!
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in November 2017

    Reviewed by: Jaime on


    The Painted House was quaint, comfortable and a nicely secluded place to stay in Astoria if you're looking to have some peace and quiet. If you're sensitive to sound, bring some earplugs as the sea lions could be heard from where we were, but that would apply anywhere one would stay near the pier.
    *This review was originally posted on Airbnb for a stay on 08/27/2017

    Amazing view. That's what sound us on the house.

    Reviewed by: Christina B. on


    The view was beautiful in a quiet neighborhood. If you have problems going up stairways this house isn't for you. The beds were hard but the house felt very homey. The kitchen is fantastic with a great view. Plan on having coffee and breakfast there! The owners were very gracious in letting us bring our 8 month old, but I would stick to their policy on children, age 8 and up.

    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay on

    July 28, 2017

    Perfect weekend get away!

    Reviewed by: Chelsea H. on


    I loved staying at the painted lady! The house had a perfect view of the Colombia river. The house was very charming and cute on the inside and out! Each room had something unique to its design and decoration. It is located in a perfect spot to where going places only takes a couple minutes! We went to the Astoria column, safe way, and out to dinner at Rogue brewery and we didn't have to travel far for any of the destinations. The property was clean and well maintained. I would definitely suggest the painted lady to friends!
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay on April 21, 2017

    We Loved our stay at the Painted Lady!

    Reviewed by: Michelle H. on


    The Painted Lady is an amazing home with such character and beauty. The decorator's choice for each room was delightful, comforting, and hospitable. The bedrooms were very cheerful and bright, and we loved that they both had their own bathrooms in them. The showers were wonderful, as the water pressure was amazing. There was also plenty of hot water for all to take morning showers with. The kitchen was bright with contemporary appliances mixed with just enough antiques to remind you that you were in a vintage home. But I must say, the view from the windows in the kitchen was astonishingly beautiful. I love that this house has both the historical aspect to it as well as modern charm.This home was very clean, well-kept, and on a very quiet street. It had plenty of kitchen and bathroom supplies as needed. The bed linens and towels were all fresh and clean. The hide-a-bed was very comfortable, as my daughter indicated that she's NEVER slept on a hide-a-bed that she?s liked before, so she was pleasantly surprised with this one.This particular time of year the sea-lions were out in the bay/laying on the boat-docks. If you are an animal lover like us, we loved to hear the sea-lions converse amongst themselves as we sat on the front deck. You are close enough to the water that you can take a small drive to the boat docks and enjoy the sea-lions, birds, ducks, and even a dinner at the Rogue Brewery if you so desired to. The property owners have a three ring binder with all sorts of information on food, activities, and other interests that you can do while staying in Astoria. We found this very helpful in planning our daytime and evening events.I will be highly recommending this place to our friends and family in hopes that they too can enjoy the Painted Lady and Astoria as much as we did this past weekend.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay on April 20, 2017

    First Impression: "WOW"!

    Reviewed by: Tami W. on


    My husband and I were invited to join some friends and stay here with them. I had no idea of what to expect, just that it was a house in Astoria. When we arrived I was blown away at the beautiful house! The old Victorian style with the gorgeous colored details was just amazing! I was so excited because I've always wanted to stay in a house like this. We went in and I was impressed with the antique furniture and the old-fashioned d_cor. It had a breathtaking view from the kitchen window of the bay with the huge barges floating by. We could actually hear the sea lions barking!
    That evening after we settled into our lovely room, we all piled in my car and went down for dinner at the Rogue Brewery on the waterfront. We had a delicious dinner and beer samples. My husband and our friends brought home some of the specialty beer that were sold there. We went back "home" and sat out on the spacious front porch and relaxed and visited. Later that evening we enjoyed watching movies on the dvd player in the living room. There were six of us staying that night, and there were plenty of places to sleep. They even had the softest, most plush robes I have ever felt for each of us in the closet! In the morning we prepared our own breakfast in the kitchen. I was impressed that they had everything we needed that we may have forgotten to bring to cook with. We had all slept well and were comfortable, warm and happy. I was surprised how quickly the house felt like "home"!
    Truly, what more could we ask for? It was just fantastic and I would recommend The Astoria Painted Lady to anyone!
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay on April 21, 2017

    Painted Lady...House on the Hill

    Reviewed by: John K. on


    Great view of the Columbia River from the kitchen. Very comfortable furnishings set in a quiet neighborhood. Nice, fairly well stocked kitchen but needs a few items - nothing large enough to boil a crab in let alone a pasta dinner for 6. WiFi, but TV only works for playing DVDs, which they have plenty to choose from. No instructions for TV use so wasted a bit of time there. Overall, a pleasant stay, but a little on the expensive side.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay on April 14, 2017

    Reviewed by: Gabriel Davis on


    *This review was originally posted on Airbnb for a stay in 03/07/17

    Perfect home base for your Astoria adventures!

    Reviewed by: Tim H on


    Great place for your stay! It's close enough to downtown to take full advantage but set apart up on the hill for some quiet relaxation with a great view! We'd stay again!
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in February-17

    Reviewed by: Michelle Lakey on


    Nice stay, beautiful view.
    * This review was originally posted on Airbnb

    Reviewed by: Tim Harkins on


    Great place for your stay! It's close enough to downtown to take full advantage but set apart up on the hill for some quiet relaxing with a great view! We'd stay again!
    * This review was originally posted on Airbnb

    Reviewed by: Carolyn Odoherty on


    The poster by the picture window with information about passing ships was a big hit! *This review was originally posted on Airbnb for a stay in December 2016

    Breath taking!

    Reviewed by: Jill J. on


    Just pulling up to this beautifully restored Victorian home took my breath away! It was more than I expected and I am going back for a second stay and for two nights with this place as my destination.Just beautiful!

    This was orginally posted on HomeAway.com on 12/2016.

    Great View and Proximity to Entertainment

    Reviewed by: Jade R. on


    Enjoyed the Victorian style and comfortable stay. Everything was clean and as we expected when we arrived. Having entertaining things to do within such close proximity was a favorite. We took advantage of the riverfront walk and downtown shops. The kitchen/dining area was nice to sit and enjoy the ships and river views over a nice cup of coffee.

    Make sure stairs are not a problem for you because there are plenty to navigate while coming and going. We, however, appreciated that being on the 2nd floor and on a hill is what gives it character and a great view. The 2 rooms worked well for 4 of us to sleep comfortably. Sleeping 6 required the living area hide-away bed to be used. It worked and was comfortable, but the 2 sleeping in that area did not get to sleep-in as much since they were in the main living area.

    The Astoria area was a lot of fun. We actually were not quite able to visit all the different places we wanted. Another day would have been good. We stayed 2 nights, but 3 or 4 would have been better. The bridge, Fort Stevens, Lighthouse, zip-lining (south of town on Hwy 101), museums, art shops. We ate at the coolest place that had been converted from a warehouse into a restaurant.

    We would like to go back an visit again!

    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway.com for a stay in March 2016.

    Amazing View and Great Location

    Reviewed by: Kerry M. on


    It was a wonderful place to enjoy a weekend in Astoria. It was my first time in Astoria and I really enjoyed the view and proximity to everything we wanted to see.

    This review was originally posted on HomeAway.com for June 2016.

    Amazing View and Great Location

    Reviewed by: Kerry M. on


    It was a wonderful place to enjoy a weekend in Astoria. It was my first time in Astoria and I really enjoyed the view and proximity to everything we wanted to see.

    This review was originally posted on HomeAway.com for June 2016.

    Reviewed by: Meghan Traudt on


    Our choice to stay at this property was mainly because of the location near our grandparents house and because of limited options available on the particular weekend we were in Astoria. While it served its' purpose, we felt that the description of the property did not accurately portray what the situation really was. The long-term tenants who live in the bottom of the house, while nice, left us a detailed note on the door the evening of our check-in explaining how important it was that we were quiet, how even heavy walking could be heard below and has waken them up in the past. Their child shares a door with the entry way of the rental and after staying, I do not feel this was accurately conveyed in the description. The description caters to the type of guest that would be looking for a quiet getaway but also mentions that it is a great choice for families. Given the age limit of 8 years old and other noise restrictions, I would disagree with the choice to advertise as a family rental. The accommodations were comfortable but it would not be suitable for groups of adults who are looking to spend a lot of time at the rental because we felt like we always had to be cautious of the amount of noise we were making and spent a limited amount of time there given our family obligations. Lastly, I would have to agree with another guest's feedback in that the cleaning fee seemed a bit steep after going through all of the steps of tidying up. I have never been one to leave a place in disarray and would have cleaned up as a courtesy but we were required to strip all of the bedding, put towels and other linens in designated laundry bags and take out the trash/recycling. For the price we paid per night, those seem like steps that should have been included in the cost. If there are people looking for a place to simply sleep, this would be a good choice. The location was perfect for us. If needed, you could walk to Safeway and the views of the river are pretty spectacular but if you are looking for a place where you could socialize past 10pm, rethink selecting this as your rental in Astoria.

    This review was originally posted through Airbnb in September 2016

    Manager Response:

    Thank you for your feedback, Meghan. The owners have informed us that the specific tenants mentioned no longer reside at the home. We understand how important it is to set accurate guest expectations and have added even more information to the listing about the exact setup of the home. Your feedback about the cleaning fee was passed along to the property owners and the price has since been reduced! We hope to assist you in your future travels. Best, The Evolve Team

    Not what we expected!

    Reviewed by: carla sampels on


    I have read about the rental again and I do see where it explains That you are only renting the upstairs portion. I must have missed that some how. We Got to the rental and was confused on where the front door was as we though we had the hole house as the picture shows. Then we were there to fish, So we got a polite note on our door explaining the quite times again. I would never have rented this house knowing there would be someone else there. We had to set alarms to be at the dock at 5am and I felt very unwelcome knowing we had to be so quite. I felt guilty going to the bathroom or even brushing my teeth in the morning before we left. The square footage is very small the pictures make it look a lot bigger than it is. We only had 6 adults, But we didn't want to sleep 2 to a bed so we brought a cot. There was no extra room for it at all. It was not the right rental for us at all. It was not a bad place and there was many good things about it, But not for what we were there for. This is for people that go to bed early and sleep in and don't mind shearing a house. The front porch is great, but you sit right in front of the other peoples window. That is not relaxing at all. I also thought the price was a little high for what we got. I am renting a place next year that will hold up to 12 people for less money. A lot of my issues are poor planning on my part, but my stay was very disappointing!!

    *This review was originally posted on VRBO for a stay in Aug-16

    Manager Response:
    Thank you for your feedback, Carla. We're sorry to hear this wasn't quite the right fit for you and your group. It sounds like overall the property was quite satisfactory and a great option for many renters. We advertise that the home can sleep 6 as there is a bed in each bedroom and a full-sized pullout in the library. The owners also offer apologies for any issues caused by the downstairs renters, they no longer reside at the home. We hope to assist you in your future travels! We're happy to help on the planning front. -Best, The Evolve Team

    Charlotte W

    Reviewed by: Char on


    ? We found the rental to be cozy and comfortable. All of the antiques and stained glass windows were beautiful. We especially liked the kitchen with a wonderful view of the river and it was well equipped. The table is large enough to accommodate a large group for meals. We liked the fact that there are 3 bathrooms for large groups as well. The neighborhood is very quiet which made the stay very relaxing. We are looking forward to a visit in the future. *This review was originally posted on VRBO for a stay in Sep-15

    Great place with a great location and wonderful views

    Reviewed by: Debra A. on


    We spent two nights at the Painted Lady and were generally impressed with it. The part of the home we stayed in (upstairs) was clean and well maintained. There were a number of very nice touches: lots of books, games, CDs and DVDs. There were fresh flowers in the kitchen and tea on the shelf. We had plenty of towels and a bathrobe for each of us. I liked the location. It was a short walk to the river where we could see the sea lions on the docks (it was fun listening to them from the apartment, not at all annoying) and we could look at the ships. We walked on the path along the river to downtown Astoria and had fun looking around. It was probably a mile one way. There were a few minor downsides. First, the place is advertised for six. The sofa bed is on the small side for two people. Second, there were no spare rolls of toilet paper other than what was on the roller in each of the bathrooms (fortunately there were 3 bathrooms!). Finally, the batteries in the remote were corroded and non-functional. However, these issues do not detract in any way from my willingness to recommend the Painted Lady to other people looking for a get-away. Keep in mind that access to the apartment requires going up two flights of stairs. *This review was originally posted on VRBO for a stay in Jan-16

    Loved it!

    Reviewed by: Amy on


    We loved the Astoria Painted Lady. It was quaint and comfortable with a great view of the Columbia River. The wrap around porch is perfect for relaxing. The living room/library has plenty of books, cds & movies for those interested. The kitchen is well equipped. The dog dishes and bones that were provided were welcoming as well. We would definitely stay there again. It is on the second floor of the house so fyi if stairs are a problem. Great location!
    *This review was originally posted on VRBO for a stay in Apr-16

    Great views, quaint, well equipped lodging

    Reviewed by: Jessica on


    The painted lady is set up on a quiet hillside neighborhood in Astoria with great views of the Columbia River. Its a fun old house with comfortable beds, a well stocked kitchen, and plenty of bathrooms. Location is convenient: Safeway is close, Riverwalk is close, and trail to Cathedral Tree is close. Access to washer/dryer would be helpful after a day at the beach. Would definitely stay here again.
    *This review was originally posted on VRBO for a stay in Jun-16

    Beautiful views out kitchen windows

    Reviewed by: Rachael L on


    The views from the kitchen windows - large ships and sunsets - were amazing. The rooms were comfortable and having a bathroom in each one (plus one off the kitchen) was appreciated. We walked to the Cathedral Tree Trail from the house - short little hike but really beautiful. We really enjoyed our trip!
    *This review was originally posted on VRBO for a stay in May-16

    Great property!

    Reviewed by: Christina on


    We stayed in the house for a last minutes adventure to Astoria! It is beautifully decorated and the kitchen area has lovely views! The quiet neighborhood served as a great getaway. We will definitely be back!

    This review was posted on VRBO.com for a stay in June 2015

    Enjoyed the comfort, views and Astoria!

    Reviewed by: Spencer J on


    Very comfortable stay. One of our favorites was sipping our hot drinks in the Dining / Kitchen area overlooking the incredible view of the Columbia river with large ships coming, going, and anchoring in the harbor. House is comfortably and well furnished with nice touches and detail throughout. The multiple bathrooms made it very convenient. Nice appliances and plenty of amenities made day to day easy. The hilltop location and second floor required navigating stairs, but provided relaxed and unobstructed and memorable viewing. Recommended for 4 people, 6 is do-able. Safeway was nice to have down the hill, as well as the "Riverwalk" that we took advantage of several times. You must see the "Column"... unbelievable view of entire area. Our family enjoys art and second-hand adventure shopping, so my kids and I were very entertained on our 3 hour walk through the downtown galleries and stores. There are multiple attractions: Maritime Museum was my father's favorite, Fort Stevens, and Lewis and Clark were mine. Plenty of eating places from fine dining to fast food. We are interested in returning for another visit!

    This review was posted on VRBO.com for a stay in December 2015

    Unique home with wonderful views and a couple downers

    Reviewed by: Paul H. on


    The good! This is a wonderful, partially restored, old unique home. The owners clearly have taken pride in improving and decorating it to reflect the era it was built. The views are fantastic and the accomodations are functional. We found the kitchen to be large, well appointed and more than adequate. The parlor was a delightful room connecting the two bedrooms. We slept well on the comfortable beds, listening to the faint sound of the sealions. It was fun being in a historical home in such a classic town like Astoria. Check in was a breeze as they utilize a well performing electronic code lock on the front door. There is a nice parking lot on the side of the house. The not so good? It's important to remember you are in an old house that has not been completly renovated. Remember that you are reserving half of it, upstairs only. The lower level is occupied by a permanent resident. Also keep in mind that the pictures represent the very best look through the magic of photography as you would expect to some degree when an owner is trying to show a home in it's best possible way. In short, It's a bit more run down than presented. Some surprises: When we entered the house it smelled in a strong "old house" sort of way. Opening the windows helped for sure, but the smell was always present when you returned. Tolerable, but not pleasant at all we all agreed. In the rear bedroom there is a tub with no plumbing so that person must bathe somewhere else. The plumbing had a slow leak at the sink as well so all that worked was the toliet. There are no clothes dressers or closets in the rooms so you are living out of your suitcase. Not a huge deal, but generally when on vacation we don't like getting handed a list of chores espicially when you just paid a $100 cleaning fee. Here is a partial list of check out chores: Prior to your departure, please tidy up the unit by doing the following: Take the trash out to the garbage and recycling receptacles, located near the parking lot Load and start the dishwasher Place all used towels in a garbage bag, found in the kitchen, and leave the bag at the top of the stairs Strip all used linens and place them on the floor next to the beds Additional fees will be imposed if the unit is found in an unsatisfactory condition, so please return it to the condition in which you found it. We hope this review proves helpful to the renter with tempering expectations and the owners for helping with improvements.

    Manager's Response:
    Thanks for taking the time to post a review. The owners put a lot of work into taking care of and improving the home, so your feedback related to the sink is appreciated so that it can be quickly addressed. There is a dresser in each bedroom, visible in the photos, and wall hooks with hangers available. This is the first time we've received feedback regarding the scent of the house, as it hasn't been a concern of previous guests. It is mentioned in the listing description that there is a long term tenant in the lower level, so we hope this wasn't a surprise. As this is a vacation rental and not a hotel room, there are a few typical check-out requirements, which are now described in the Rental Agreement so travelers can be aware before they book. We try hard to represent homes as accurately as possible so that guests have appropriate expectations. We wish you luck in your future travels. ~ The Evolve Team

    This review was posted on VRBO.com for a stay in December 2015

    Nice enough house. Only the second floor was included.

    Reviewed by: Andrew H. on


    Two bedroom, three bath (which was odd), a very small kitchen, the TV did not work (except that there were some good dvds to watch).

    All in all, OK but somewhat pricey for what it is.

    This review was originally posted on HomeAway/VRBO.com for a stay in October 2015

    Manager Response: Thank you for providing a review of your stay! The vacation rental unit within the house is located on the second floor and while the kitchen is small, it is fully functional and depicted accurately in the photos. The home is not advertised as including cable, but the owners are considering adding cable in the future. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to assist you in your future travels! -The Evolve Team