Remote Lyndon Farmhouse - Stepping Stones

City: Lyndon, Vermont Property ID: 433379

grand total: From $325 total Per Night

  • DETAILED DESCRIPTION
    If you're looking for an authentic Vermont vacation, you'll find it perched on Darling Hill! This 5-bed, 5.5-bath farmhouse on 10 acres is one-of-a-kind, where the bones of a historic home have been renovated into a modern, commercial vacation rental. Make this your home base for Nordic skiing and snowshoeing with trails right on-site, or hike along the famous Kingdom Trails. Be sure to watch the Olympic athletes train on Burke Mountain! Follow your adventures with a hot drink by the fire.

    -- THE PROPERTY --

    Historic Farmhouse | ADA-Compliant Home | Hot Tub | Peaceful & Remote Area

    This ideally located farmland near the Kingdom Trails offers outdoor enthusiasts endless opportunities for Nordic skiing, snowshoeing, sledding, and more!

    Master Bedroom (Pond View): King Bed, Whirlpool Tub | Bedroom 2 (Darling View): Queen Bed w/ Handicap Bathroom Across the Hall | Bedroom 3 (Gap View): 2 Full Beds, Private Shower | Bedroom 4 (Pine View): 2 Full Beds, Private Shower | Bedroom 5 (Meadow View): 2 Full Beds, Soaking Tub

    INDOOR LIVING: Antique accents, wallboard heat, 8-person dining table, common sitting areas in the kitchen and a small sitting room upstairs
    KITCHEN: Fully equipped w/ commercial-grade appliances, stovetop range and hood fan, triple deep utility sinks, refrigerator, dish sanitizer, drip coffee maker, toaster oven
    GENERAL: Window A/C units, in-unit washer/dryer, linens/towels, strong cell service, handicap bathroom accessible from any room w/ ADA-compliant shower, grab rails
    OUTDOOR LIVING: 4-season hot tub, gas grill, open field, lawn furniture, hammock, picnic table, brick walkways, fire pit, porch, bike washing station, secure storage shed for bikes/skis/other sporting equipment, front porch w/ wicker and hammock swings
    SUITABILITY/SAFETY: Fully, commercially compliant ADA, automatic fire alarm, permitted and licensed property, security alarm
    PARKING: Driveway (15 vehicles)

    * NOTE: The property manager lives on-site, in a completely separate unit, and may be present during your stay *

    -- THE LOCATION --

    OUTDOOR ACTIVITIES: Burke Mountain Trailhead (4.3 miles), Hunting Rifle Season in November, Kingdom Trails - the biggest, most well-known network of trails in the US (surrounding the property), Mountain Pisgah (14.8 miles), Lake Willoughby (19.1 miles)
    EAST BURKE: Burke Mountain Ski Resort (7.4 miles), Great Vermont Corn Maze (11.6 miles), WilloBurke Nordic Spa (2.9 miles), Fairbanks Museum & Planetarium (13.1 miles)
    WEDDING VENUES: The Inn at Mountain View Farm (1.8 miles), Tempson Barn (4.7 miles), Pavillion in the Pines (0.4 miles), The Notch House (12.3 miles), The Alerin Barn (11.5 miles), Willoughby Haven (16.2 miles)
    FAMILY FUN: A 25-yard swimming pool is located nearby at Northern Vermont Community College. Please check the Shape schedule for the pool schedule. There is a drop-in fee of around $5.00
    DAY TRIPS: Vermont Reindeer Farm (34.5 miles), Santa’s Village (39.8 miles), Goodrich’s Maple Farm (24.8 miles), Cabot Cheese Factory (27.9 miles)
    MOUNTAIN BIKE EVENTS: Winter Bike, Rasputita, NEMBAfest
    AIRPORT: Burlington International Airport (83.7 miles)

    -- THE EVOLVE DIFFERENCE --

    Evolve Vacation Rental wants your vacation experience to be everything you hoped for and exactly what you needed. To make it easy, we help you find a property you love, offer world-class support seven days a week, and make sure our properties are safe, clean, and ready for your stay. Even better, each home has a Guest Contact available 24/7 for any issues that arise. It’s a fresh new approach to vacation rental. Try Evolve today!

    -- POLICIES --

    - No smoking
    - No pets allowed
    - No events, parties or large gatherings. Evidence of parties will result in fines
    - This property is not suitable for small children as it was built in the 1860s and contains several antiques throughout
    - Must be at least 25 years old to book
    - Please note that young children are welcome at the property should they be well-attended or supervised by a parent or guardian
    - Early check in and late check out are available upon request for a $35 charge
    - Additional fees and taxes may apply
    - Photo ID may be required upon check in
    - Hunters must obtain a license from the state and be conscious of the quota
    - Hunters must obey all Vermont hunting laws and courtesies
    - There is a strict maximum occupancy of 10 inside guests due to a state-regulated fire code
    - The maximum occupancy only applies for inside guests, additional guests may camp outside with prior homeowner approval. Please reach out to the homeowner with requests prior to your stay
    - Please observe quiet hours between 10:00 PM and 7:00 AM
    - This area of Vermont is remote, and wildlife may be present during your stay
    - The spa business closes April 1st
    - WiFi is not available and service may be limited
    - NOTE: The owner lives on-site, in a completely separate unit, and may be present during your stay

    Hot Tub Rules:
    - There is a $50 fee to use the hot tub that goes into effect April 1st
    - The hot tub is only for guests 16 years and older
    - There is a $200 post-stay fine if the hot tub is excessively dirty

  • Location
  • DETAILS & AMENITIES

    Area Activities

    • Antiquing
    • Cross Country Skiing
    • Cycling
    • Downhill/Alpine Skiing
    • Eco Tourism
    • Farmers Market
    • Festivals
    • Fly Fishing
    • Health/Beauty Spa
    • Hiking
    • Horseback Riding
    • Ice Skating
    • Mountain Biking
    • Restaurants
    • Rock Climbing
    • Sailing
    • Snowboarding
    • Swimming

    Community Amenities

    • Onsite Laundry Facilities
    • Shuttle
    • Tennis Court

    Inside Amenities

    • Air-Conditioning
    • Essentials
    • Kitchen

    Key Amenities

    • Carbon Monoxide Detector
    • Coffeemaker
    • Complimentary Toiletries
    • Fire Extinguisher
    • First Aid Kit
    • Free Parking
    • Hair Dryer
    • Iron/Board
    • Private Hot Tub
    • Smoke Detector
    • Trash Bags/Paper Towels

    Other Amenities

    • Parking
    • Private Entrance

    Outdoor Amenities

    • Fire Pit
    • Gas Grill
    • Hammock
    • Outdoor Dining Area
    • Patio
    • Patio Furniture
    • Private Yard

    Property Amenities

    • Balcony/Patio
    • Books
    • Central Heating
    • Clothes Steamer
    • Dryer
    • Elevator
    • Ensuite Bath
    • Fitness Room
    • Ground Floor
    • Jetted Tub
    • Keyless Entry
    • Linens Provided
    • Sauna
    • Security System
    • Towels Provided
    • Washer

    Suitability

    • Extended Stay
    • Flexible Max Occupancy
    • Long Term Renters
    • Minimum Age Requirement
    • No Pets Allowed
    • Non Smoking
    • Not Suitable For Children
    • Step Free Access
    • Suitable for Elderly
  • Guest Reviews (5)
    Write Your Own Review

    Fatbiking and Ski Weekend

    Reviewed by: Richard R. on

    Comment:

    group of 8 family and friends arrived on Friday night the house is beautifully furnished and the Bedrooms are large and comfy with great views, the kitchen area is great for hanging out before and after the days activities, the conditions were perfect for a fatbike weekend and this house is a great location we did a 14 mile loop from the house which included some great trails.Owner of house was awesome and great to deal with will cant wait to come back to NEK and stay here again.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in January 2020

    Very nice, but with a few major disappointments upon arrival.

    Reviewed by: Karen D. on

    Comment:

    This rental had some very high points. The upstairs bedrooms were large and plentiful. They were all bright and clean and spread out enough that it was very quiet and peaceful for sleeping. The bathrooms were also a high point. Very clean and efficient, and one for each bedroom! The upstairs also had a small sitting area which was nice. The first floor kitchen was also great. It's very large and bright. It is well equipped to do all kinds of cooking. However, you don't find out till you get there that you are not allowed to use the dishwasher that is in the photos. BRING PAPER (unless you enjoy washing dishes over and over again throughout your entire stay!!) The kitchen table is the only common sitting area that you have. There is a cute little gas/wood stove in the corner, however you are also not allowed to use that! One more warning: although you see a large industrial sized refrigerator in the photos, there is no freezer. The only freezer is a small table top unit. We had to sacrifice several frozen items and couldn't keep much ice frozen. Again, if we had been warned, we could have planned better. More pluses: great proximity to Burke Mountain and the surrounding area is beautiful. The disappointments were as follows:No common room to gather with guests to relax. No comfy couch. The only place to congregate together was the kitchen. You are really renting the upstairs bedrooms and the kitchen in the owners home. This is not what was expected. The owner runs a spa business out of her portion of the home all day. She also lives in the home. If you like a little bit of privacy, don't rent this place. The owner is home and feels free to pop in unexpectedly. Sadly, her visits did not seem warm and welcoming; rather they felt a bit like a check up.The four season hot tub mentioned in the ad is only available between 6:00PM and 10:00PM in the evening. This is because it is used during the day for the spa business. In summary, if you know what to expect (and the ad does not make it clear) and you don't mind sharing the house with the owner and her business, then this could be a very nice rental; especially in the summer when you can congregate outdoors.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in December 2019

    Manager's Response:
    Karen, we're so sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay at this home. This feedback is surprising as this homeowner is known for providing 5-star experiences for all of their guests. The owner is sorry to hear that you didn't find the inside of the home to be what you expected. The home is exactly as pictured online so that travelers can make their own decisions regarding whether this is the right home for them before booking. And, when most guests stay at this home, they choose to spend most of their time outdoors. The listing also states that the gas stove is not available for guest use, but we're sorry if that caught you off guard. While the freezer is only the small tabletop unit, this has not been a previous issue with guests. The owner prioritizes every guest experience, so they will look into other options that will better serve their guests. The owner encourages every guest to establish a texting relationship with them so that they can work together to quickly address any concerns. We wish you luck in your future travels! Best, the Evolve Team

    Polar Express family weekend getaway!!!

    Reviewed by: Kristen w. on

    Comment:

    There was 13 of us that stayed at this house and there was plenty of room for all of us. The kitchen was huge so we were able to cook all of our family meals and all eat together! The rooms are very nice with lots of space. Its located close to town and everything you need. We all enjoyed the hot tub. The kids loved playing outside in the snow and going next door to sled down the big hills. We met Susan when we arrived and she was always easy to get ahold of if we had any questions or needed to know where something was. We felt right at home! We had a great family vacation and will definitely be looking to go back next year!
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in December 2019

    Best in Burke

    Reviewed by: VT Steve on

    Comment:

    We had a great stay. Great access to the Kingdom Trails, full kitchen for cooking in, and lots of nooks and crannies to hang out. The innkeeper communicated well and getting in was no problem, including a late early check in request. Our favorite place to stay in the Kingdom.

    Everything you need

    Reviewed by: Jonathan F. on

    Comment:

    Big house with everything you need to have fun with a big group of friends. Perfectly located to go biking right from the parking !
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in October 2019

top