Lake Harmony Home w/ Hot Tub, Deck & Forest Views!

City: Lake Harmony, Pennsylvania Property ID: 402222

grand total: From $265 total Per Night

  • DETAILED DESCRIPTION
    *Note that the home has various flights of stairs, and may not be suitable for mobility impaired*

    If you're searching for the ultimate Pocono Mountain retreat, look no further than this Lake Harmony vacation rental! This roomy 5-bedroom, 3-bath home sleeps 20 within 2,670 square feet of rustic living space, making it an ideal choice for a large group. This mountaintop abode is equipped with all the amenities you could possibly need and provides easy access to the area's outdoor activities.

    -- THE PROPERTY --

    Master Bedroom: King Bed | Bedroom 2: Queen Bed | Bedroom 3: 2 Twin-over-Queen Bunk Beds | Bedroom 4: 2 Twin-over-Queen Bunk Beds, Full-over-Full Bunk Bed | Bedroom 5: Queen Bed

    You'll immediately feel at ease approaching this 3-story home in a peaceful setting, located atop a mountain adjacent to Jack Frost Big Boulder ski slopes.

    The wraparound private deck is a great place to kick back with a warm cup of coffee and enjoy magnificent views of the valley and mountains towering in the distance; you may even catch glimpses of the deer and wildlife that frequent the property!

    Inside, the residence features soaring cathedral ceilings and large floor-to-ceiling windows, allowing you to observe the mountain range while a fire roars in the gas fireplace. Cozy wood touches tie the mountain decor and rustic furnishings together.

    After an eventful day spent exploring Pennsylvania, look forward to returning home to prepare a delicious meal in the fully equipped kitchen, complete with all necessary cooking appliances.

    Once dinner's ready, gather around the wood dining table to enjoy the tasty home-cooked fare with your companions.

    Before it's time to call it a day, unwind with a satisfying soak in the outdoor hot tub that overlooks the valley below.

    -- THE LOCATION --

    During the winter, take a short 5-minute drive to hit the slopes at the renowned Big Boulder Ski Area or drive an additional 5 minutes to the fantastic Jack Frost Ski Area.

    In the warmer months, you'll be just a short walk from Lake Harmony's private beach where you can go kayaking or play a game of volleyball. While the weather is still balmy, make sure to check out the multiple whitewater rafting opportunities. During fall, go for leisurely strolls on the community's private streets and admire the brilliant colors of the changing leaves while breathing in the brisk Pennsylvania air.

    The golfers in your group will be delighted to find several golf courses within just a few minutes of the home, including Jack Frost National Golf Club. After a day spent on the links, refuel by stopping by any of the local restaurants within walking distance of the house. Try the Crunch Batter French Toast at Piggy's for breakfast and the filet at Louie's Prime Steakhouse for dinner!

    If you're feeling lucky, head to the Mohegan Sun Casino located 35 minutes away in Wilkes Barre.

    -- THE EVOLVE DIFFERENCE --

    Evolve Vacation Rental Network is on a mission to make vacation rental easy for guests. Every property in our network has been vetted and verified so you can book with confidence. If you have questions prior to your trip, we are happy to assist you 7 days a week. During your stay, your designated Guest Contact will be available 24/7 to help with any issues that may arise.

    -- ADDITIONAL DETAILS --

    Key Residence Features:
    - Amenities include a fully equipped kitchen, wraparound private deck, spectacular views of the valley, cathedral ceilings, gas fireplace, large dining table, 2 flat-screen TVs, hot tub, free WiFi, Mitsubishi heating and air conditioning units in every room, in-unit washer/dryer, gas grill, and much more
    - Fantastic Lake Harmony location in the peaceful Lake Harmony Estates private community! Enjoy easy access to ski slopes, Lake Harmony, private beach, golf, casinos, restaurants, shopping and numerous other local attractions!
    - Nearest Commercial Airport: Wilkes-Barre/Scranton International Airport - 100 Terminal Road, Avoca, PA 18641, (~38.9 miles away)

    -- POLICIES --

    Policies:
    - No smoking
    - No pets allowed
    - No events, parties or large gatherings
    - Must be at least 25 years old to book
    - Note that the home has various flights of stairs, and may not be suitable for mobility impaired
    - Additional fees and taxes may apply
    - Photo ID may be required upon check-in

  • Location
  • DETAILS & AMENITIES

    Area Activities

    • Boating
    • Cross Country Skiing
    • Cycling
    • Downhill/Alpine Skiing
    • Farmers Market
    • Festivals
    • Fishing
    • Fly Fishing
    • Gambling
    • Golf
    • Health/Beauty Spa
    • Hiking
    • Horseback Riding
    • Hunting
    • Jet Skiing
    • Kayaking
    • Miniature Golf
    • Mountain Biking
    • Museums
    • Nightlife
    • Playground
    • Rafting
    • Restaurants
    • Rock Climbing
    • Sailing
    • Shopping
    • Sledding/Tubing
    • Snorkeling
    • Snowboarding
    • Snowmobiling
    • Snowshoeing
    • Swimming
    • Tennis
    • Water Parks
    • Waterskiing
    • Wildlife Viewing
    • Winery Tours

    Inside Amenities

    • Kitchen

    Key Amenities

    • Air-Conditioning
    • Coffeemaker
    • Hair Dryer
    • Private Hot Tub
    • Trash Bags/Paper Towels
    • Wireless Internet (WIFI)

    Kitchen Equipment

    • Dishware and Flatware
    • Dishwasher
    • Ice Maker
    • Microwave
    • Refrigerator
    • Stove/Oven
    • Toaster
    • Water Filter

    Nearby Amenities

    • Mountain View

    Outdoor Amenities

    • Deck
    • Gas Grill
    • Hammock
    • Outdoor Dining Area
    • Patio
    • Patio Furniture

    Property Amenities

    • Alarm Clock
    • Books
    • Cable/Satellite TV
    • Ceiling Fans
    • Dryer
    • Fireplace
    • Flat-Screen TV
    • Games
    • Home Theater System
    • Internet Connection
    • Linens Provided
    • Stereo
    • TV
    • Towels Provided
    • Washer
    • iPod Dock / MP3

    Suitability

    • Access Only By Stairs
    • Car Recommended
    • Minimum Age Requirement
    • No Pets Allowed
    • Non Smoking
    • Not Suitable For Elderly
    • Suitable for Children
  • Guest Reviews (16)
    Write Your Own Review

    Reviewed by: Cara on

    Comment:

    The home was filthy dirty. Clearly has not been cleaned in weeks. Upon arrival we instantly saw the house had not been cleaned. Bathrooms and toilets were horrible. Dust inches thick on blinds, ceiling fans, lamps. Mold growing from ceiling in kitchen. Walls had stains, floors were dirty, hot tub smelled. Trash from previous renters was still there and we had no where to put our trash. Host told me it was cleaned a few days prior, clearly not true. Was so horrible that we considered not staying and head home. AirBnb returned our cleaning fee to us after sending pictures of the home. Would not suggest renting this home at all.
    *This review was originally posted on Airbnb for a stay in February 2019

    Manager's Response:
    Hi Cara, We were very sorry to hear that the cleanliness of the home was not satisfactory upon your arrival to the property. We take these concerns seriously - cleanliness is one of our 4 Core Property Standards! The house is prepared by a professional cleaning service prior to each reservation, and the homeowner has spoken with their cleaning crew about deep-cleaning the entire home to ensure that these issues are thoroughly resolved for their upcoming guests. We apologize that your experience fell short, and we would love the opportunity to host you again at one of the other 10,000 properties that we manage. Best, the Evolve Team

    Reviewed by: Kim on

    Comment:

    The house is in a good location, very large, large kitchen and common area. However, the house was not clean and items were missing. The host was unresponsive.
    *This review was originally posted on Airbnb for a stay in February 2019

    Manager's Response:
    Kim, thank you for your review. We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed the location and size of this beautiful home, however, we’re sorry to hear some aspects of your stay fell short of your expectations. Cleanliness is of the utmost importance, and we have passed along your feedback to the homeowner so they can work with their cleaning crew and ensure this issue does not recur for future guests. We’re also sorry you had some troubles communicating with the homeowner. In the future, you can always reach out to us here at Evolve if you are unable to reach your local contact. We are here 7 days a week to address any and all questions or concerns that arise during your stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we’d love to host you again in the future! Best, the Evolve Team

    Relaxing

    Reviewed by: amanda on

    Comment:

    Great trip ! The house was very nice had lots of space and was cozy. All clean sheets and towels provided for stay. The hot tub was a bit cloudy but still was enjoyable.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in February 2019

    Reviewed by: Maureen on

    Comment:

    No
    *This review was originally posted on Airbnb for a stay in January 2019

    Manager's Response:
    Hi Maureen, We appreciate you taking the time to privately share some feedback about your stay even though you decided not to leave a public review. We have passed your feedback along to the homeowner for their consideration. Thanks again, and we hope to travel with you again soon! Best, the Evolve Team

    Absolutely amazing spacious house!

    Reviewed by: Vincent on

    Comment:

    This was one of the best trips we have ever went on! The house was a lot bigger and nicer then the pictures show. Everything was working perfect as we arrived. We called to see if there was anyway we can come earlier because we were around the area. Without hesitation they let us come an hour before checkin. The house was also in a very nice area close to the Jack Frost ski resort and also there are many stores close by to pick stuff up if you needed it. Only complaint we had was the lighting in some parts of the house were very dim. But other then that the house was an amazing choice! Definitely coming back next year and hope to make this a yearly tradition.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in January 2019

    Reviewed by: Brian on

    Comment:

    Really solid place, the main floor is beautiful.
    *This review was originally posted on Airbnb for a stay in November 2018

    Reviewed by: Megan on

    Comment:

    Great big open area for the whole family
    *This review was originally posted on Airbnb for a stay in October 2018

    Reviewed by: Andrew on

    Comment:

    Large space with a beautiful kitchen and living room. Nice deck.
    *This review was originally posted on Airbnb for a stay in September 2018

    Reviewed by: Courtney on

    Comment:

    This house ended up not being what we expected. It was very spacious and a great location, don't get me wrong, but many amenities we were not able to use. The fireplace did not work, the TV had several issues, and the hot tub was green. The house was not clean when we arrived, despite the purple gloves left on the outside table. There were stains on the walls, the bathrooms were dirty, and the table/kitchen area was sticky. We contacted the vacation company Saturday morning and were told that someone would be by in the afternoon to help us with hot tub, TV, and fireplace. No one ever came and after I asked to speak to someone about this being an issue, I never got a response back. Still 2 days later, no response. We still had a great time as a family, but we are very upset that we spent so much money on amenities we could not use (this is the main reason we booked the house for the fireplace, tv, and hot tub).
    *This review was originally posted on Airbnb for a stay in September 2018

    Manager's Response:
    Hi Courtney, Thank you for your review! The homeowner would like to respond with the following: "Thank you very much for your review. We take our guests' input very seriously and want to make sure we can improve when we've fallen short. We apologize that the fireplace not working during your stay. Due to high winds during the storms before your arrival, the chimney cap blew off and damaged the ventilation system within the fireplace. We took action on this matter as soon we became aware of it, and the fireplace is already being repaired. The TV is on a DirectTV satellite system. We checked the system after your stay and did not find any issues, so please let us know exactly what your experience was with the TV so we can prevent it from occurring again. The green tint in the hot tub is due to the metal content in the town's water supply, and we are exploring different ways to alleviate this without using too many chemicals to compensate for the color. We do our best to clean the home for the comfort of all of our guests and will relay the points you've made to our cleaning staff and so that they can make the necessary changes. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback, and we hope that you will consider staying with us again." Best, the Evolve Team

    Not as advertised. Poorly equipped and mildew everywhere.

    Reviewed by: John T. on

    Comment:

    Very steep stairs and rumpled sets of sheets met us as we entered a dark, damp first floor. Rooms on this level were extremely damp and uncomfortable. The service could not even be bothered to make up the beds. Old, cheap furnishings and a poorly equipped kitchen as well as a leaking refrigerator met us on the second floor. View is non existent and the deck was in dire need of a pressure wash. This property is a disaster for anyone not able to do multiple sets of stairs. Lake access is a joke and restaurants in the area were few and over crowded. There was one grocery store 1/2 an hour away. Not well located and no view of the lake to speak of. Hot tub was a nice feature if you don?t mind the smell of mildew..Listing is deceptive.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in August 2018

    Manager's Response:
    Thank you for your review John! The homeowner would like to respond with the following: "Thank you very much for your review. We take our guests' input very seriously and want to make sure we do everything we can to improve upon anything where we may have fallen short. We have guests on a weekly basis and do our best to turn the home around to a high standard between each stay.

    The sheets are always folded neatly, packaged, and organized in our foyer based on bed size as you enter the home. The guests are then able to dress the beds they plan on using during their stay. We apologize the furnishing were not up to your standards. We take pride in trying to create a rustic cabin / ski-chalet feel. We also stock the kitchen with pots, pans, dishes, utensils, and a substantial amount of serving ware as well. We are aware of the leaking refrigerator and are in the process of having the fridge replaced.

    We apologize for what you've mentioned as "dampness" on the first floor. We are curious if it was just general humidity. The rooms have windows along with a split unit in each room. We leave it to our guests to decide on what temperature to set each room. You are correct in your assessment of the need for better lighting on the first floor. This is something we plan on improving upon. We are not quite sure what to do about the stairs in our home. As advertised, this home is based on three levels. We apologize the stairs were too steep for your liking.

    This home is in a lake-community with private access to Lake Harmony. However, we have not advertised any direct view of the lake at all. In fact, the home is on "Skye" Drive which is appropriately named given the elevated view of the beautiful hills spread across the vast state game lands and nature preserve.

    We apologize you did not enjoy the restaurants in Lake Harmony and thought they were too overcrowded. We also apologize the grocery store wasn't close enough for your convenience. Unfortunately, we do not control the number of restaurants or the crowdedness of the restaurants in the area. We also do not control the distance of the grocery store. Many of our guests will do a quick google map search and local restaurant research before their visit to inform their dining and shopping plans.

    As it turns out, there was not mildew in the hot tub. The issue with the discoloration and film in the hot tub was actually related to us overcompensating with cleaning chemicals which caused a chemical reaction (iron and metal in the water).

    We sincerely apologize your stay wasn't up to your standards. We'd be happy to discuss the matter further to find an amenable resolution." Best, the Evolve Team

    Reviewed by: Sagar on

    Comment:

    Place had bugs and small insects. The response time by the Rental place was very long. It took many repeated calls and messages for them to respond. The hot water in the bathrooms don't work if all the 3 bathrooms are used at the same time. The force of the water decreases in the same case as well. The flushes were not very good. Microwave was burnt when we got there and it could not be used.
    *This review was originally posted on Airbnb for a stay in August 2018

    Manager's Response:
    Hi Sagar, We are sorry to hear that maintenance issues impacted your stay, and we have shared your feedback with the homeowner so that they can resolve any issues for their future guests. Thank you for your feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to travel with you again soon. Best, the Evolve Team

    Good owner but house is unmaintained

    Reviewed by: Suj P. on

    Comment:

    For the most part everything was amazing. The owner was very responsive and helpful. But, the house itself was very dirty and needed improvements. For example, there were a lot of spider webs around the house outside and there wasn?t good landscaping in the backyard. Also, if someone was to shower at the same time as another person the other person would either lose hot water or lose water pressure, where water would be dripping from the shower head. Lastly, the house needed more amenities because between 13 people the owner only gave us 4 rolls of toilet tissue, no dishwasher detergent, and no laundry detergent.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in June 2018

    Manager's Response:
    Thanks for taking the time to review your stay, Suj. The homeowners asked us to share the following response: "Thank you very much for your review. We take our guests' input very seriously and want to make sure we do everything we can to improve upon anything where we may have fallen short. We really want all of our guests to enjoy their stay and feel comfortable in our home. We have guests on a weekly basis and do our best to turn the home around to a high standard between each stay.

    Regarding the spider webs: based on your feedback, we had our cleaning crew go through the entire home (inside and outside) and sweep any hard to reach corners of the home to get rid of spider webs or dust in hard to reach places. Our home is in the middle of the woods and our guests often like to keep an open door to enjoy the beauty outdoors, particularly during the warmer months. Unfortunately, this can contribute to dust and particles making their way inside the home and occasionally building up in hard to reach corners.

    We plan on increasing the number of toilet paper rolls left behind for each stay. As far as the water pressure, you are correct that our community in Lake Harmony Estates suffers from low water pressure. This is because the water to the house is supplied by a well. Note that our well pump is new and recently replaced in May of 2017. Unfortunately, what this means is that it can be difficult when multiple showers are running at the same time.

    As far as dishwasher and laundry detergent, we encourage our guests to bring these items. Some guests may have allergies or preferences for certain types of cleaning products. However, we will consider adding detergent to our home for future stays.

    We sincerely apologize your stay wasn't up to your standards. We'd be happy to discuss the matter further and see if we can find a more amenable resolution. Thanks again for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback very much." Best, the Evolve Team

    Unclean house; filthy hot tub

    Reviewed by: Jessica on

    Comment:

    We booked this property for two nights and were extremely disappointed and even disgusted at the general upkeep and cleanliness. The hot tub was unusable as the water was brown and filmy and the filter hadn't been changed in quite some time. The grill was also layered in grease and caked on food. Inside the house, the dishes were not well cleaned and it was clear the house hadn't been dusted or vacuumed.

    While I appreciated the quick response of our guest contact and the fact that someone came out the next day to clean the hot tub and grill, we still missed more than half of our time in the house. As the hot tub was the main reason we booked this house, this was extremely disappointing.

    I followed up with Evolve twice before I heard back. While the owner refunded a portion of what we asked for. However, my fellow guests and I did not feel it was adequate as we did not receive the full value of what we paid for.

    Manager's Response:
    Jessica, we're very sorry to hear your stay fell short of your expectations. We have shared your feedback with the homeowner who has the following to say:

    "Thank you very much for your review. We take our guests' input very seriously and want to make sure we do everything we can to improve upon anything where we may have fallen short. We really want all of our guests to enjoy their stay and feel comfortable in our home. We have guests on a weekly basis and do our best to turn the home around to a high standard between each stay.

    As it turns out, the issue with the discoloration and film in the hot tub was actually related to us overcompensating with cleaning chemicals which caused a chemical reaction (iron and metal in the water). We were contacted about this on Friday evening at 9:30pm during your stay and addressed the issue as soon as possible on Saturday.

    Based on your input, we have made the cleaning staff aware of the dishes and grill. They will be taking extra care of these items in the future.

    We sincerely apologize your stay wasn't up to your standards. We offered you a substantial refund in hopes to make you feel compensated for where we fell short. We'd be happy to discuss the matter further and see if we can find a more amenable resolution."

    They are dedicated to providing optimal stays for their guests, and we are confident the anomaly you experienced will not recur. Thank you for letting us know. Best, the Evolve Team

    Reviewed by: Richard on

    Comment:

    House is in a great location and very roomie! Perfect place for a weekend get away!
    *This review was originally posted on Airbnb for a stay in May 2018

    Wonderful home in Lake Harmony!

    Reviewed by: Claire O. on

    Comment:

    We really enjoyed our stay at La Vasa! The home was gorgeous and had plenty of space for everyone. We did have some issues with the refrigerator leaking when using the water spout, but other than that no complaints. I would recommend this house to anyone!
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in February 2018

    HOUSE WAS REALLY NICE AND CLEAN

    Reviewed by: michael r. on

    Comment:

    PROS HOUSE WAS NICE AND CLEAN PLENTY OF ROOM. CONS!!!!!!! NO INTERNET OR TV OUR WHOLE STAY (FRIDAY-MONDAY) WE CALLED THEM REPEATEDLY AND THEY DID NOT FIX IT. THE DISH WAS SHUT OFF. THERE WAS NO OPEN ACCOUNT. THAT WAS NOT FUN AT ALL. HAD NO PHONE SERVICE. SOME OF OUR GUESTS LEFT AND WENT BACK HOME. I WAS EMBARRASSED ALSO BATHTUB IN THE LOFT THE DRAIN WAS CLOGGED WATER DID NOT GO DOWN WHEN YOU TOOK A SHOWER AND MIDDLE BATHROOM SINK WAS PARTIALLY CLOGGED. THE SLIDING DOORS TO THE DECK ARE OFF THE TRACK. WE LOVED THE AREA AND WILL DEFF COME BACK BUT DO NOT THINK AT THIS HOUSE UNLESS THEY GIVE US SOMETHING BACK!!!!!
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in February 2018

top