Charming Scottsville Cottage on 12 Private Acres!

City: Scottsville, Virginia Property ID: 326024

grand total: From $179 total Per Night

  • DETAILED DESCRIPTION
    Gather your loved ones for a refreshing Scottsville retreat when you book this delightful 2-bedroom, 1-bathroom vacation rental cottage that comfortably sleeps 4. Nestled above a gorgeous courtyard, the Carriage House at Warren Mill features an expansive deck overlooking rolling pastures, a private hot tub, and every tranquil detail needed for a rejuvenating escape!

    THE PROPERTY

    Master Bedroom: Queen Bed | Bedroom 2: 2 Twin Beds | Living Room: 2 Twin Pullout Chairs

    Situated on the historic site of the still present Warren Mill, the post-and-beam constructed Carriage House is the Virginia home-base of your dreams. Feel the cares and worries of your everyday life melt away as walk up to the second-story deck entrance, stepping inside the charming cottage to discover 1,200 square feet of well-appointed living space.

    From the spacious living area with its cozy couches and glowing fireplace beckoning you to sit back and relax, to the lovely kitchen, fully equipped with everything you need to prepare your delicious home-cooked meals, you'll feel right at home.

    While the interior offers an abundance of space to sit back and relax, the exterior provides a natural arena for you to unwind in the fresh air. The expansive deck overlooks the peaceful pasture and the creek on the 12-acre property, which is all of yours to enjoy during your stay! You'll love spending time here listening to the babbling waterfall, watching for the families of deer wandering through the pasture or stargazing into the late hours of the night.

    In the courtyard, you'll find plenty of wood for a fire and seating around the fire pit, as well as a 6-person hot tub accented by a mini-orchard of dwarf peach trees in wine barrels. Although there is no barn, you could also bring your own horses to keep in the fenced pasture, taking them out for a ride, or simply using your own feet to walk along the paths behind the property.

    Waking up to sip a freshly brewed cup of coffee on the deck overlooking the rolling pastures, you'll look forward to every peaceful morning in this stunning Scottsville paradise. Spend your days relishing in the beautiful outdoors, canoeing down the James River or walking to the wide waterfall behind the property to dip into the refreshing waters.

    For dinner, fire up the gas grill for an old-fashioned cookout, wining and dining on the elevated deck under a canopy of trees as the gorgeous sun sets over the waterfall. End your evenings gathered in the privacy screened hot tub, enjoying each other's company as the bright stars sparkle above and the train whistles nearby. When you head back inside, there will be a set of plush robes and towels waiting for you!

    THE LOCATION

    Although you could surely spend your entire vacation unwinding on the deck or lounging in the spectacular yard, you'll still want to check out the surrounding attractions. With so much to do and see right out the front door, no matter what adventures you come across while in Scottsville, you're sure to make lasting memories while staying at this cottage!

    Not only does the property exceed an outdoor lover's expectations with Ballenger Creek, the private waterfall and swimming hole, and the walking trails, but this cottage is also a 5-minute walk from the James River, making it the ideal location for enjoying numerous recreational water activities.

    Head to the nearby Charlottesville to catch a University of Virginia game, or take the 10-minute drive into Scottsville to explore the winery, brewery, restaurants, historic homes and a museum.

    Other area attractions within an easy 30-minute drive include President Jefferson's home at Monticello, Carter's Grover, Michie Tavern, President Monroe's home in Ashlawn. If you are interested in visiting the new St. Thomas Aquinas Seminary in Dillwyn, it is only 25 minutes away!

    THE EVOLVE DIFFERENCE

    Evolve Vacation Rental Network is on a mission to make vacation rental easy for guests. Every property in our network has been vetted and verified so you can book with confidence. If you have questions prior to your trip, we are happy to assist you 7 days a week. During your stay, your designated Guest Contact will be available 24/7 to help with any issues that may arise.

    ADDITIONAL DETAILS

    Key Residence Features:
    - Amenities include a fully equipped kitchen, 12 private acres of gorgeous pastures and walking trails, a large deck, tranquil courtyard with outdoor furniture, fire pit, an exterior shower, 6-person hot tub, multiples bikes, electric fireplace, central AC, in-unit laundry machines, a cable TV, free WiFi, and more
    - Marvel at the picturesque scenery, run around and relax in the open space, and stroll along the walking trails all throughout the 12-acre yard!
    - Fantastic location - 5 Minute walk from the James River where endless recreational water activities await, and an easy 30-minute drive to Carter's Grove, Michie Tavern, Ashlawn, James Monroe's home and Monticello-President Jefferson's home. In addition, this property is an hour away from Appomattox, where the Civil War ended.
    - Nearest Commercial Airports: Richmond International Airport - 1 Richard E Byrd Terminal Dr, Richmond, VA 23250, (~83.6 miles away) | Charlottesville Albemarle Airport - 100 Bowen Loop #200, Charlottesville, VA 22911, (~35.6 miles away) 

    Policies:
    - Please note that the homeowners live on another part of the property in a separate house and are happy to assist you throughout your stay
    - No smoking ($250 fine)
    - Pet-friendly without a fee (see additional rules that apply)
    - Pets should be crated while guests are not in residence and are not allowed to be on furniture or beds
    - Failure to crate and keep pets off the furniture will result in an assessed fee of $200
    - Breaking the maximum occupancy of 4 overnight will result in an assessed fee of $200
    - Events, parties or large gatherings allowed with prior homeowner approval
    - Must be at least 25 years old to book
    - Additional fees and taxes may apply
  • Location
  • DETAILS & AMENITIES

    Area Activities

    • Antiquing
    • Boating
    • Cinema/Movie Theater
    • Cycling
    • Eco Tourism
    • Festivals
    • Fishing
    • Golf
    • Health/Beauty Spa
    • Hiking
    • Horseback Riding
    • Ice Skating
    • Kayaking
    • Live Theater
    • Mountain Biking
    • Museums
    • Playground
    • Rafting
    • Restaurants
    • Shopping
    • Snowshoeing
    • Swimming
    • Wildlife Viewing

    Inside Amenities

    • Kitchen

    Key Amenities

    • Air-Conditioning
    • Coffeemaker
    • Complimentary Toiletries
    • Free Parking
    • Private Hot Tub
    • Trash Bags/Paper Towels
    • Wireless Internet (WIFI)

    Kitchen Equipment

    • Coffee Grinder
    • Dishware and Flatware
    • Microwave
    • Refrigerator
    • Stove/Oven
    • Toaster

    Nearby Amenities

    • Garden View
    • Mountain View
    • Riverfront
    • Water View

    Other Amenities

    • Off Street Parking
    • Parking

    Outdoor Amenities

    • Balcony
    • Bicycles
    • Deck
    • Fire Pit
    • Gas Grill
    • Outdoor Shower
    • Patio
    • Patio Furniture

    Property Amenities

    • Alarm Clock
    • Books
    • Cable/Satellite TV
    • Ceiling Fans
    • Central Heating
    • Dryer
    • Fireplace
    • Flat-Screen TV
    • Games
    • Internet Connection
    • Linens Provided
    • TV
    • Telephone
    • Towels Provided
    • Washer

    Suitability

    • Car Recommended
    • Minimum Age Requirement
    • Non Smoking
    • Suitable for Children
    • Suitable for Elderly
  • Guest Reviews (36)
    Write Your Own Review

    Amazing Christmas Getaway!

    Reviewed by: Emily W. on

    Comment:

    We loved every minute of this Charming Scottsville Cottage getaway! My husband and I wanted to have a nice little Christmas getaway with just the two of us and the dogs, before his upcoming deployment. This was perfect for our little family! We walked the property and let the girls run the pasture, enjoyed the view of the waterfall just about everyday, and walked down to the river and down the rail road tracks for some extra sight seeing. The property was absolutely gorgeous and the amenities inside were great. We loved the gas fire place, the hot tub, the amount of dishes and pots and pans that were available, washer and dryer, and just the small details (cotton balls, q tips, extra body soap, soap lotion, Epsom salt, and the list goes on). We brought most of our own toilet trees but the extra touches they added were great.

    We also went into town to the Barefoot Country Store. They had AMAZING breakfast and adorable/fun items for sale. Everyone in town was extremely nice. This mini Christmas vacation was much needed for us and it was a great secluded getaway. Cell phone reception was non existent but they did have wifi, but for us that was fine because we only needed to check-in here and there. There is plenty to do on/around this property and in the cottage. They have movies/cable, games and puzzles. We did 3 puzzles ourselves that we brought with us and left for others to have fun with.

    Lisa & Dan were great, they were there to greet us and showed us around when we arrived. They also answered any questions we had during our stay and treated us to some homemade Christmas cookies on our way out. They were AMAZING! If you are looking for nice little getaway, this is your place! We will definitely be back for another visit, hopefully within the next year! Thank you Lisa & Dan for making us feel at home and for being so kind!
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in December 2018

    Lovely little cottage, great property

    Reviewed by: Bronwen on

    Comment:

    We stayed here for three nights just after Christmas with our two kids. It was a perfect little escape from the city. We loved walking to the waterfall and down to the James River. We had one day when it rained all day and it was the perfect spot to chill out, snuggle, and watch movies with the kids.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in December 2018

    Beautiful getaway from the hustle and bustle

    Reviewed by: Amanda on

    Comment:

    Property was absolutely gorgeous. The walk to the nearby waterfall was beautiful, and the area is very peaceful.House was clean and in great shape. Heat works really well!Highly recommend to anyone looking to take a break from civilization for a while.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in November 2018

    precious

    Reviewed by: Rebecca L. on

    Comment:

    We loved every minute at this charmingly renovated carriage house. Two sweet cats were there to greet us and show us around. The grounds are peaceful and bucolic. Highlights include the waterfall, the James river, the train, and the hot tub. It was also a bonus to have our dogs. I would come back in a heartbeat.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in November 2018

    Wonderful family getaway!

    Reviewed by: Zach S. on

    Comment:

    This is not your average rental. This is an amazingly well cared for house with everything you need for a relaxing family get away. My wife, two year old daughter and I could hardly leave on our daily adventures because we were so cozy and content to relax here. My daughter loved the fish pond in the courtyard and we all loved the nice walk to the waterfall with perfectly placed chairs to take in the view. The kitchen was fantastic and perfect since we cooked most of our meals. We enjoyed the electric fireplace which nicely warmed the living room on our cold cold weekend, and we even toasted marshmallows at the propane fire pit on our private deck. I would high recommend this beautiful house! While you are here I recommend you check out the James River Brewery just ten minutes away in Scottsville. Great people and great beer.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in November 2018

    Reviewed by: Ashley on

    Comment:

    Loved our stay—absolutely beautiful property and perfect location! Attentive and friendly hosts.
    *This review was originally posted on Airbnb for a stay in October 2018

    Reviewed by: Victoria on

    Comment:

    Lisa and her family went above and beyond to not only provide a stylish, clean and comfortable space but to welcome and accommodate us. It is a beautiful property with a waterfall on the property and super close proximity to the James River. We wished we had more time to go tubing - next time!
    *This review was originally posted on Airbnb for a stay in August 2018

    Very nice and homey

    Reviewed by: Margaret M. on

    Comment:

    We needed to go to Charlottesville for a wedding and this super cute place made the trip a vacation. They think of everything at this property!
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in August 2018

    Reviewed by: A Verified Guest on

    Comment:

    We had a great time, in a wonderful location, with friendly hosts, and thoughtful amenities. Highly recommend for a peaceful and relaxing weekend.
    *This review was originally posted on Airbnb for a stay in July 2018

    Reviewed by: A Verified Guest on

    Comment:

    *This review was originally posted on Airbnb for a stay in July 2018

    Reviewed by: A Verified Guest on

    Comment:

    Perfect welcome. We have appreciated the decoration inside the house. There were everything we needed. little falls are gorgeous and water in the hot tub is super clean !!
    *This review was originally posted on Airbnb for a stay in June 2018

    Perfect Weekend Getaway!

    Reviewed by: Chelsea B. on

    Comment:

    My husband, dog and I spent the weekend at the Carriage house and absolutely loved everything about the place. Lisa and her husband were the best hosts with Lisa being so kind and offering us drinks and freshly picked strawberries upon our arrival. The house was the perfect size for us, or if we'd like to bring back friends/family. From the beautiful carriage house, outdoor space and our most favorite the ability to walk to the James River and a waterfall on the property, I would highly suggest staying here. We will most definitely be back! Thanks again Lisa!
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in May 2018

    Charming property with great, private cottage over carriage house.

    Reviewed by: James b. on

    Comment:

    Had a great experience here in the spring of ?18. Arrived late in the evening, property is in a rural area and GPS gave us some challenge finding it. Once there we were very pleased with the accommodations. The guest house a well appointed space write a great kitchen and living area. The property itself is perfect. Short walk takes you to a small waterfall that is peaceful to sit by and have a glass of wine. The hot tub was in excellent condition and relaxing after a long day hiking. We made breakfast in the kitchen and easily found everything we needed. The owners have been thoughtful about details including having kindling and wood ready in the fire pit near the hot tub. We really enjoyed our two nights here and would come back. Only reason we didn?t rate 5 stars is the master bed is nice, but not luxurious. A dishwasher would have been nice too but overall we loved it and would stay here again.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in May 2018

    Beautiful place to spend a weekend

    Reviewed by: Joe W. on

    Comment:

    Lisa and Dan's cottage house was everything we'd hoped it would be. The cottage is the second level of an old barn (think it was a barn?) and sits across a lovely garden from the historic mill where Lisa and Dan live. Behind the garden were open fields leading down to the waterfall. The place was incredibly friendly for dogs, and they loved running through the fields and swimming in the stream. House was spacious, clean and loaded with little amenities (hot tub, fire pit, great deck). Lisa was there to greet us when we arrived and was very helpful in terms of recommendations and information on the area. We poked around Scottsville and would recommend the checking out the Farmer's Market on Saturday mornings and the brewery. An easy drive to and from Charlottesville as well. Some previous reviews mention issues with the deck - those have been resolved. Everything looked brand new, and they've even added a nice lattice screen on the deck which provides a nice bit of shade in the afternoon.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in April 2018

    Disappointing

    Reviewed by: Kim E. on

    Comment:

    When we booked this property we were very excited about it. We were not informed that there was a railroad track across the street and a train, with whistle blowing, came by several times the day we arrived. It also woke us up at 3:00 AM when it went by! We were under the impression that the home was secluded and we were surprised that the owners lived in home right across the gravel parking area. The hot tub had sand in it and didn't appear clean so we didn't use it. The day we arrived we enjoyed walking our dogs to the waterfall and along the stream. When we woke the next morning the stream had overflowed it banks and was close to the property. We had reserved the cabin for 5 days but left after the first night.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in April 2018

    Manager's Response:
    Kim, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. While we do disclose in the listing that the homeowners live in a separate house on another part of the property and are happy to assist guests as needed, we apologize if this caught you off guard. We're sorry for the issues you experienced with the location, and we certainly wish we could control the nearby trains or the water levels of the stream. Thank you again for letting us know. Best, the Evolve Team

    Reviewed by: Pieter on

    Comment:

    Heel leuke en attente eigenaars.
    *This review was originally posted on Airbnb for a stay in May 2018

    A quiet place to get away

    Reviewed by: Patrick on

    Comment:

    Easy to find, close to town with plenty of activities and restaurants or an equipped kitchen to cook at home
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway in March 2018

    Very relaxing!

    Reviewed by: heather h. on

    Comment:

    Cute Cottage with lots of charm. Wonderful secluded swimming area with waterfall and lots of walking areas. Close to wineries and Monticello . A great spot to unplug for a few days with the family!
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in March 2018

    Quiet and Comfortable

    Reviewed by: James Z. on

    Comment:

    Loved the stay. We brought our dog and infant and it worked out perfectly. The dog could run/walk in the fields and down at the James River and our boy could sleep while we walked. Easily driveable to Charlottesville (we went to 3 Notch'd Brewing and Pippen Hill Vineyards). Well kept, clean, and very relaxing stay overall.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in March 2018

    A wonderful home and experience.

    Reviewed by: Phil B. on

    Comment:

    This was a wonderful home and property. We stayed here for a weekend and it was relaxing. The fire pit was used both nights with plenty of dry firewood to choose from. The ONLY reason I have to remove one star from a perfect 5-star stay was due to the hot tub not working and we were not informed of this until our arrival. This was literally the only reason we chose this house, so it was absolutely disappointing that it wasn't working and that we were not informed sooner with the ability to choose a different home in the area. So we felt very duped and cheated from that aspect. But with all that said, the owners were very apologetic for it and provided a partial refund for the mishap. But honestly, this should have been handled better. Besides the hot tub issue, you should also be aware the owners of the property live very close to this rental, like 50 yards away. So while there are 12 acres of land to explore, it's not as private as advertised. However, they were very good at providing privacy and not disturbing us at all. Now for all the positives...house was clean, the waterfall and swimming hole was beautiful and the amenities were all as advertised. It was a wonderful property that had everything we needed. I would recommend it to anyone...just call ahead the week before to make sure the hot tub is working. Can you tell I'm slightly bitter about the hot tub? :)
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in March 2018

    Nice relaxing weekend in a wonderful quiet location

    Reviewed by: Shannon J. on

    Comment:

    We would most definitely rent this property again if we ever plan a trip back to the area. Lots of nice, fairly flat ground by a tributary to the James River; great for walking the dogs who loved being able to take a trip with us. The cottage is well appointed and nicely decorated which makes it very comfortable. The location is very true to the pictures - even better than we had hoped. The owner was very accommodating and right next door on the property if you needed anything. The property is rural - but that's exactly what we were after. It is about a 15 minute drive or so to the grocery store. The area surrounding Scottsville and Charlottesville is full of breweries, wineries, distilleries, cideries, and historic sites - all within about a 30 to 45 minute drive. We especially recommend Woods Mill Distillery and Bold Rock Cider. Monticello was an easy 25 to 30 minute trip. Croby's Urban Vittles was a fantastic find for a good, local lunch. I don't think you'll be disappointed with this property!
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in March 2018

    The property was beautiful and just as pictured.

    Reviewed by: Kelly M. on

    Comment:

    Visited from NC and PA for a weekend getaway with another couple. The home was very spacious and comfortable, kitchen had everything we needed for cooking, and the outdoor seating exceeded our expectations. We put the grill and hot tub to great use. Lovely property with very kind owners.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in February 2018

    Cute, clean, relaxing

    Reviewed by: Alexandra S. on

    Comment:

    We really enjoyed staying at the carriage house. It is very spacious and the high ceilings make it feel even more so. Everything was very clean and tidy, and the bed was quite comfortable. The walk to the waterfall was lovely and it was nice being able to hear it from a distance. The fire pit and hot tub made for a relaxing weekend without the kids, but it would be a great place to come as a family as well.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in January 2018

    Wonderful cottage!

    Reviewed by: Ashly O. on

    Comment:

    Beautiful property! Enjoyed the lovely grounds, the wildlife, the sound of the train going by and very comfortable lodging!!
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in November 2017

    Beautiful private setting

    Reviewed by: Adriane B. on

    Comment:

    Beautiful property in the mI'dle of the country.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in November 2017

    Beautiful property

    Reviewed by: Adriane B. on

    Comment:

    This place is beautiful! You truly are in the middle of the country. The apartment had everything needed for a comfortable stay.
    *This review was originally posted to HomeAway for a stay in November 2017

    Reviewed by: Ryan on

    Comment:

    The Carriage House was an amazing property. It is tucked away from the rest of the world, so be prepared for country living The property is gorgeous, and there is a great little waterfall within easy walking distance. The hosts were very responsive and called to check up on us the first night, which was great. I will definitely book again if available.
    *This review was originally posted to Airbnb for a stay on 10/17/2017

    Greath hosts, nice place, with a good location

    Reviewed by: Evan L. on

    Comment:

    Nice location to "get away from it all". The has recently been redone and is in great hot tub. It's a great place to use a spot to just relax. Our 3 year old love the toys they had staged, and me and the wife enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub. Over all a great location for a small family.
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay on September 21, 2017

    Our stay at the Carriage House was relaxing!

    Reviewed by: Gail S. on

    Comment:

    Enjoyed the hot tub, waterfall, swimming in the cool water hole, playing in the James River, taking long walks on the property and down the lane. The town of Scottsville has many historic properties to see, the levy walk was panoramic, and restaurants tasty. The owners of the property were gracious and close by. We would love to go back in the very near future! John and Gail Va Beach, VA
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay on August 7, 2017

    Peaceful yet a bit unkept

    Reviewed by: Laurie O. on

    Comment:

    We arrived a bit early and Lisa was very friendly and accommodating. The overall condition of the outdoor space was very disappointing to say the least. The area around the fire pit looked like it had not been cleaned in quite awhile. The "pear trees" were so wilted and close to dying, my Son could not stand it and watered the 3 out of 9 that had not completely dead. Chairs and tables were not clean and had sticks and leaves on and around them and the chairs were strewn about. The cushions on the glider were so dirty we did not even attempt to sit on it. The deck is in MAJOR need of repair! I had to place a table over one part of it as I was afraid my 3 & 5 yr old Grandaughters would fall through. The entire deck was a bit scary and we only followed the path to go up & down the stairs. I mentioned my concerns to Lisa and her response was "we have no time for repairs between guests". ?!?! I hope she somehow finds the "time" before someone gets seriously injured! There is a neighbor closet by that has hunting dogs and they are out barking 24 hrs. Something we got used to but can be annoying. The screen on the door was hanging off and we had a SWARM of European Wasps one night (VERY huge & scary looking bees!) two of them managed to get into the house. They are attracted to the light so I suggest you do not keep the outside lights on at night. Hence, we did not have an outdoor fire knowing there is a nest close by. We were able to catch two of the bees under glass bowls and Lisa came right over and did identify that they were "European Wasps" and said she had them at her house previously and had called pest control but they could not locate the nest. We also showed her the screen on the door was hanging off, again her response was "we dont have time for repairs between guests". ?!?! My Daughter taped the screen up with scotch tape to insure we had no more unwanted pests inside! The interior of the carriage house was very cute and spacious. Well maintained and comfortable. This is the first time I have been disappointed in a VRBO accommodation! Until repairs are made I would not reccomend this property to even a stranger! If you do rent this PLEASE watch your step on the deck!
    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay on August 24, 2017

    Manager's Response:

    Laurie, thank you for your feedback and we apologize the outdoor area was not up to your standards. The owner has let us know that she enjoyed all of your positive feedback you mentioned during your stay such as how you would certainly return and would have stayed longer at the property if you could have. Most of the issues you mention in your review were discussed at your arrival such as the deck and doors which were awaiting a schedule date for the contractor. Recently there was rain that watered the peach trees and unfortunately holes were not cut in the bottom which caused them to be over-watered. The owner discovered 3" of water in the pots but plans to repot them again in the spring. As for the deck the owner notified you when you arrived that work was being done on it but there was no issue in regards to the safety of the property. The owner has actually been working since the beginning of the summer to get a contractor out there to renovate the entire deck which she's happy to say has been all completed since your stay. The owner definitely does not want guests to feel they are not her main concern so she blocked off two weeks during peak season to have the contractor finish all deck renovations. The entry door and the screen door you mentioned have also been replaced as well. The European Wasps have recently surfaced in the area and in addition to already calling out pest control to rid the property of them on the day you discovered them, the owner has scheduled a follow up service call to find the wasp nests and get rid of as many as possible. The owner cannot guarantee all wasps will be taken care of but is doing her best to remove them from her property. Again we thank you for your feedback and we are glad the owner was able to accommodate your needs such as an early check in and allowing additional guests. We look forward to booking you your next vacation rental.

    Best,
    The Evolve Team

    Reviewed by: Jim on

    Comment:

    The carriage house was perfect for the 4 of us. It was spotless Very comfortable common areas. The grounds of the property are idyllic. A great hot tub hidden away. Acres of rolling grass and a waterfall/swimming hole. The best feature was the warm hospitality of Dan and Lisa our host!
    *This review was originally posted on Airbnb for a stay on 08/09/2017

    Reviewed by: Robert on

    Comment:

    We had a wonderful stay here at the Scottsville Cottage! The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. The Cottage is very clean and has modern amenities. The surrounding nature on the property is gorgeous, and even includes a little waterfall. Overall a great stay!
    *This Review was orginally posted on Airbnb for a stay on 06/01/2017

    Stunning and relaxing

    Reviewed by: Julie S. on

    Comment:

    We pulled up and were immediately struck by the pastoral beauty of the property. The beautiful former Mill and Carriage House were fantastic. The Carriage house was clean and well appointed, everything we could have needed! Even slippers! The owners were very hospitable, offering suggestions for the area. We went into the small town of Scottsville for the farmers market, we shopped in local spots, got coffee at Bains, lunch at Smokehouse Grill and ice cream. We hit the Dollar General for inner tubes for the waterfall area (just to float, water was pretty low). We did not take water shoes which I recommend. Returning to the house for a hot tub dip before evening cocktails. It was completely perfect. Keep in mind for light sleepers there are trains that run nearby and do sound the whistle. As well, Mr. Rooster crows about every 10 seconds around 8:40am :-) Other than that we enjoyed the stunning silence and starry sky. None of it bothered us but just noting it for others. It was a terrific relaxing weekend and the property was fantastic.

    *This review was originally posted on HomeAway/VRBO.com for a stay in June 2017

    Beautiful & Relaxing Retreat :)

    Reviewed by: linda a. on

    Comment:

    When we arrived, everything was just as we had hoped. The property was beautiful and the carriage house was perfect for our getaway. The house was clean and well furnished. It had everything we needed and more. The owner was friendly and helpful in pointing us in the directions of the activities we were most interested in. During our stay, we visited the nearby wineries, walked the property to check out the waterfall and swimming hole, hiked the local trails, enjoyed the hot tub, and shopped/dined in downtown Scottsville. We'll definitely be planning another visit to the carriage house in the summer :)

    This review was originally posted on HomeAway.com for December 2016

    Great place to stay outside of Charlottesville

    Reviewed by: John P on

    Comment:

    The cottage was just wonderful! Me, my girlfriend and her parents stayed for two nights. The property is beautiful, and a nice getaway from any city! Lisa lives right across the way and is a great host. I highly recommend a visit here, and don't forget to check out Scottsville, it can be charming and the tavern is a great stop for lunch! *Originally posted on VRBO for a stay in November 2016

    Beautiful picturesque property located about 20 minutes from Charlottesville.

    Reviewed by: Amanda U. on

    Comment:

    We needed a quiet retreat away from the hustle and bustle of life, and this fit perfectly. The house was equipped with all of the necessities without the clutter. Surrounded by beautiful scenery and a short walk to a waterfall next to the property. There were a decent amount of toys and children's books that entertained our 19 month old daughter. Our beagle Henry was in heaven with many acres to sniff and explore. The house was quaint and adorably decorated. I honestly can say there wasn't anything we didn't love about our stay. Very child friendly in my opinion. And best of all, the owners were so delightful and friendly. We will be recommending this place to our friends! Just hope it doesn't become to popular, because we will definitely be returning.

    This was originally posted on VRBO.com on 10/2016.

top